Skip to content

Guest blogger: Lizzie Lamb

16 March 2024

It was with some trepidation that I set out for London and the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Industry Awards on 13 November, held at the Leonardo Royal Hotel London City. Having been shortlisted for the Indie Champion of the Year Award, twice, I wondered if 2023 would be my year.

Upon arrival, photographs were taken in the ‘green room’, where a glass of nerve-calming prosecco was on hand. After that, we headed for the dining room for the ceremony. It looked fabulous, all the tables laid out with white napery, candles and complimentary bottles of wine and water. The Leonardo staff brought round an array of canapes—which I was too nervous to eat—and we settled down for the ceremony itself. Clutching my pre-prepared acceptance speech, I waited for my category—Indie Champion 2023—to be called.

I was absolutely thrilled when I won!

As a former teacher it’s second nature to help and inspire others and, since joining the RNA in 2006, I’ve striven to give something back. Not only to help indie authors write the best book they can, but to champion and encourage others to keep going; even when the going gets tough. To this end I formed the Belmont Belles and Beaux, which now has over sixty members, organised workshops and co-presented a talk on indie publishing at last year’s conference. Indie authors plough a lone (and very expensive) furrow: writing, editing, finding proofreaders and cover designers, having their work professionally formatted and relying on social media to get word of their novels out there. If I’ve been able to lighten the load for even one indie author, I feel that I will have earned this trophy.

What’s next for me? I like the freedom being an indie affords me and I will carry on writing and helping others for as long as I can. So, I’m heading back to the PC to write the sequel to Dark Highland Skies, which I hope to publish Christmas 2024.

You can find Lizzie here: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Dark Highland Skies

Halley Dunbar has always loved the stars. As a doctor of astrophysics, she knows more about them than most. But she also has a secret, one that could change everything. When Halley returns to Scotland to arrange her great-uncle’s funeral, she meets Tor Strachan. Tor is haunted by the past. He was a soldier in Afghanistan, where he witnessed a tragedy that scarred him for life. He suffers from PTSD and flashbacks that make him feel like he’s back in the war zone.

Their encounter on the silver sands of Morar sparks a connection that neither of them expected and they find themselves drawn to each other, despite their differences and fears. Can they overcome the obstacles that stand in their way? Or are they doomed forever to remain star-crossed lovers?

Find out in this beautifully written, romantic novel set that will take you on a journey of love, loss and hope.

12 Comments
  1. jessiecahalin permalink
    18 March 2024 5:45 am

    Huge congratulations on your well deserved success. I can’t wait for the next book.

    • Anonymous permalink
      18 March 2024 7:35 am

      thanks Jessie, I hope it’s out in time for Christmas 🎄

  2. 18 March 2024 3:58 am

    Great blog, Lizzie. Thank you for sharing.

    • Anonymous permalink
      18 March 2024 7:36 am

      thank you Patricia, I was thrilled to win 🙏

  3. Anonymous permalink
    18 March 2024 3:38 am

    Thanks for sharing your experience! Such a well-deserved accolade, Lizzie.

  4. 17 March 2024 11:15 pm

    Great post Lizzie, and a very well deserved award!

    • Lizzie Lamb permalink
      18 March 2024 3:38 am

      Thank oyu Jo. I’ll try and leave a reply WITHOUT a typo.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    17 March 2024 10:43 pm

    Great post, Lizzie. And a well-deserved award.

    • Anonymous permalink
      18 March 2024 12:03 am

      Lovely post, Lizzie – and that award is very much deserved xx

      • Lizzie Lamb permalink
        18 March 2024 3:37 am

        Dear Anon, I know who oyu are – LOL> thank you very much for leaving a comment.

  6. 16 March 2024 7:28 pm

    Many congratulations, Lizzie!

    • Lizzie Lamb permalink
      17 March 2024 12:48 am

      Thank you Liz. Many congrats to you, too, fir turning to crime 🕵️‍♀️

Comments are closed.