Skip to content

Guest blogger: Helene Young

10 June 2018

Love for all ages

I do love a real-life fairy tale romance like Prince Harry’s and Meghan’s, but as each birthday passes the more I want to read stories about older women dealing with life and all its messy glory. Many of my friends are women embarking on a second, or even third, chance at love. Or they’re breathing new life into a love that’s decades old.

Older love is different to a young love with all that wide-eyed optimism. It’s more cautious, yet liberating. It’s careful yet wild. It’s passionately sexy yet respectful of bodies that have borne children, changed shape, been broken and healed. An older love is all the more powerful for knowing how much it hurts to lose love, for knowing that it takes time to build a love that outlasts the initial surge of attraction, a love that will endure heartbreak and weather the erosion that time brings.

Some of my favourite movies have love story arcs for characters no longer in the first flush of their twenties and thirties. What’s not to love about Liam Neeson’s character in Love Actually, or Tom and Meg in You’ve Got Mail, or Katharine and Henry in On Golden Ponds?

Writers like Barbara Hannay, Fiona Lowe, Liz Bryksi and Anna Campbell all have characters who’ve lived, loved and lost and who’ve found love is possible again. There’s something reassuring about it. Just because I won’t see my forties again doesn’t mean that I don’t want to know love can still strike hard and fast no matter our age. (And for the record I’m not planning on ever trading in Capt G!!)

I do enjoy the escapism of a story by KM Golland or Kylie Scott or one of Annie West’s Sheiks, because they make me smile and give me a great big shot of endorphins—and that’s always welcome. Yet I find it’s the older characters who stay with me longest, who I worry about and empathise with and perhaps that’s an inevitable part of ageing.

Friends have just celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary. It’s beautiful to hear them finish each other’s sentences, to see them almost dance as they move around their boat galley cooking dinner together, to watch them bicker over something then laugh about it. Their love struck early when they were teenage neighbours and it’s never wavered, which just goes to prove that fairy tales do happen and love can endure a lifetime.

What do you prefer? Reading a romance about your own age group, someone younger, older or doesn’t it matter, provided the emotional journey is satisfying and the ending is uplifting?

Join in the discussion to go into the draw for a copy of Return to Roseglen. The giveaway will close on 24 June. (The giveaway is now closed. The winner was mchriste33.)

Happy reading,

Helene

You can find Helene here: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Return to Roseglen

At times like these families should be coming together, not tearing each other apart.

On her remote North Queensland cattle station, Ivy Dunmore is facing the end of her days. Increasingly frail, all she holds dear is threatened not just by crippling drought, but by jealousy and greed—and that’s from within her own family.

Can Felicity, who’s battling her own crisis as her fiftieth birthday approaches, protect her mother and reunite her family under the homestead’s faded iron roof? Or will sibling rivalries erupt and long-held secrets from the past break a family in crisis?

 

22 Comments
  1. 23 June 2018 7:19 pm

    I fell in love with my husband all over again after 30 years of marriage. Supporting friends through an acrimonious divorce made us realise how lucky we were to have such a great relationship. So we sneaked in the honeymoon we never had all those years ago.
    Love you novels and pleased to see another about to be released.

    • 23 June 2018 7:23 pm

      Pamela, that’s so lovely and I’m glad you’ve navigated your way through thirty years of marriage. Having reached that milestone ourselves earlier this year I know how important it is to make time for just the two of us. May we both have many years ahead with our spouses! And I hope you enjoy Return to Roseglen!

  2. Carolyn Ansky permalink
    12 June 2018 6:41 pm

    It really doesnt matter what age but I prefer something believable. Love can happen at any age if you believe.

    • 13 June 2018 2:17 pm

      Indeed love can happen any time anywhere, Carolyn. Thanks for stopping by the blog 🙂

  3. craneclaire permalink
    11 June 2018 12:26 am

    The age isn’t so much of an issue so long as the characters and story pull me in, I do like a HEA as I’m a romantic at heart

    • 11 June 2018 10:50 am

      Thanks for stopping by Claire, romance makes the world a better place and a HEA is always such a feel good moment 🙂

  4. 10 June 2018 9:37 pm

    I have been married over 50 years and I don’t mind reading any age as long as there is a HEA

    • 10 June 2018 11:52 pm

      Congratulations on 50 wonderful years, Barbara, and a resounding ‘yes’ from me to a HEA as well!

  5. 10 June 2018 8:56 pm

    Hi Helene,

    Congratulations on the new book! I definitely prefer reading about lives and romances of someone our own age. The trials and tribulations of our age set is different to what young lovers go through. I like to learn about new life experiences and how to handle it as we grow older!

    • 10 June 2018 11:51 pm

      Thanks, Nas, it’s lovely to be reassured by stories of women like ourselves. And growing older doesn’t make us any less loveable or sexy or passionate!

  6. Cheryl-ann Hawkes Martin permalink
    10 June 2018 7:51 pm

    As I am in my sixties but feel about 50 I really want to experience love again. My past two loves were aviators who moved on to very much younger women. All part of my journey. No regrets I don’t want to feel any of my life was wasted – just part of the learning curb. I KNOW the universe has someone out there for me . THIS time he maybe totally opposite as I have no expectations just someone who will be there and me for him. So yes, these days I do like to read books with male/female protagonists with lifes wrinkles and stories. Its easier to jump in their shoes and become emersed in another life.

    • 10 June 2018 11:50 pm

      It sounds like you’ve had a full and interesting life, Cheryl-ann, and whatever the universe delivers you’ll enjoy to the max. I certainly don’t feel my age at all and I firmly believe there is a love for all ages! Thanks for stopping by to be part of the conversation 🙂

  7. 10 June 2018 5:46 pm

    Hi Helene

    These days I want it all I love to move around so to speak depending on the mood I am in and what I fancy different countries different ages of the hero and heroine this makes me smile as long as I can engage with the characters in the story then I am in love them

    I am really looking forward to this one

    have Fun

    Helen

    • 10 June 2018 11:48 pm

      Variety is the spice of life, Helen! And thank goodness for all those talented writers creating stories for us to read!!

  8. Sue Legg permalink
    10 June 2018 5:03 pm

    There is nothing better to me than reading a good suspense drama with a smattering of romance thrown in for good measure, however being a baby boomer I am slowly turning my genre to those of older women (& men not so much) perhaps because I can relate/relive the experiences. It’s never too late to fall in love! Looking forward to your next hit😊📚And looking forward to see the Bookclub released this week at the 🎥 movies. How great are these women!

    • 10 June 2018 11:46 pm

      Indeed it is never too late to fall in love, Sue! Thanks for dropping by and being part of the conversation. I’ll put the Bookclub on the list of movies – although I did assure Capt G we’d see something action packed for the next cinema visit!

  9. Diane permalink
    10 June 2018 3:07 pm

    Hi Helene, when I was younger all I wanted to read was about first love, then when I married, love stories involving kids kept me entertained. For a long time now I find a read is much more satisfying if there are characters involved who have experienced life, warts and all. Who provide the balance of the seesaw whilst the other characters are bouncing up and down. And I need to see lots of conversation in a story with an uplifting ending. Congratulations on your latest book. Looking forward to reading it.

    • 10 June 2018 3:18 pm

      I was the same, Diane, and I still love a dose of escapism but I’m more interested in characters like those around me, my friends and family, women I meet. And yes, to the uplifting ending! I hope you enjoy Return to Roseglen 🙂

  10. 10 June 2018 1:09 pm

    I believe that stories about older women and men are slowly becoming more acceptable to writers and film makers. I love seeing movies and reading stories about mature women and men either finding their soulmate or falling madly in love for the first time. It certainly is not only the prerogative of the young.So glad to see another book from you Helene. Thank you for the opportunity,

    • 10 June 2018 2:12 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Dee. I think the film and book industry has realised there are many people, men and women, interested in stories about people like themselves. The baby boomers have the time to read stories and the ‘sandwich generation’ of women – who are juggling marriage, adult children, ageing parents, menopause and so much – are looking for something closer to their reality. I hope you enjoy Return To Roseglen 🙂

  11. mchriste33 permalink
    10 June 2018 12:30 pm

    Love reading – and writing – books with older characters who have more experience to offer. Looking forward to reading this one, Helene.

    • 10 June 2018 2:09 pm

      You’ve been writing wonderful, heartwarming stories about older characters for sometime now, Maggie, and readers love them! Thanks for dropping by the blog 🙂

Comments are closed.