Skip to content

Feature book: Kiss of the Goblin Prince

2 May 2012

Kiss of the Goblin Prince by Shona Husk

Kiss of the Goblin Prince begins right where The Goblin King finished, at Eliza and Roan’s wedding. The sparks fly between Roan’s brother, Dai, and Eliza’s widowed sister-in-law, Amanda, with stolen glances at the church.

Dai King has survived the two-thousand-year curse by hoarding knowledge and books about magic, trying desperately to break the curse with the information he has learned. He has not endured without scars, external and internal. He is struggling to adapt to the Fixed Realm and find his place in the world that has changed so much. While Roan was able to use magic to the Shadowlands, the information Dai has gathered has transformed him; he is able to see the threads that make up everything in the world and manipulate them.

Amanda was only eighteen when her husband drowned leaving her six months pregnant and alone, then she has to care for her daughter, Brigit, who has severe asthma. She is truly inspiring, placing the needs of her daughter before her own. Amanda’s life centres around her daughter and she has not dated or even expressed an interest in anyone, until she meets Dai—which I totally get.

Roan has Eliza to lean on while adjusting to the Fixed Realm, but Dai has no-one. Add to this his physiologically damaging history, before and during his time as a goblin, he is not what anyone would call ‘dating material’ but then neither is Amanda. Both are not quite confident in investigating or allowing the ‘threads’ to grow between them. The entire book builds up the attraction and romance between the pair.

I loved the world building in The Goblin King and enjoyed it even more in Kiss of the Goblin Prince. Every character has me thoroughly ensnared. The addition of Birch Bank is fantastic—what hidden plans do they have for the Goblin Prince and his brother, I am looking forward to see what dastardly schemes they have in any continuing books.

I think the thing I loved the most about Kiss of the Goblin Prince is the fact that Dai and Amanda didn’t jump each other straight away as couples do in other books I have read. They both had issues and reservations about being in a relationship or even just dating someone. They both had work to do to heal themselves before jumping into a relationship and working on each other’s issues, even with the paranormal aspects, I found this to be a real-life feature.

I’m excited that there will be a third in the series, For the Love of a Goblin Warrior—expected publication October 2012. As someone who reads a lot of paranormal romance novels, I can honestly say prior to reading The Goblin King, I didn’t think of goblin’s as the romantic lead, but this series has certainly opened my eyes.

reviewed by Aimee

An ARC of this book was provided by the author. All ARRA members who leave a comment on the review will go in the draw to win the ARC. (This giveaway is now closed – congratulations to Nikki Logan.)

8 Comments
  1. 9 June 2012 3:14 pm

    Woo hoo! Thanks ARRA for the giveaway. So looking forward to seeing that cover up close 🙂

  2. aimskye permalink
    9 May 2012 2:12 pm

    Super lucky to read the ARC!
    Loved Dai, can’t wait for the next one.

    Aimee

  3. 3 May 2012 9:50 pm

    I read the first one and keep waiting for the sequel . I believe dai story would be as good as the previous one:D

  4. Mary Preston permalink
    3 May 2012 1:20 pm

    The series does look amazing. I am judging by the cover & YUM!!!

  5. carol L permalink
    2 May 2012 10:21 pm

    I really enjoyed The Goblin King. I never before had thought of a Goblin as being anything close to a romantic figure. 🙂 Shona’s Goblin King changed that for me. I loved Dai as well. I’m ready to ride along as he seeks his own HEA. Thanks for the opportunity. 🙂
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  6. Shiona permalink
    2 May 2012 8:59 pm

    A goblin with wings! Curiouser and curiouser. I’ve just read the reveiw on the Goblin King and put the book on my TBB list so I’m guessing this one will go on that list too. Cheers, Shiona

  7. 2 May 2012 6:46 pm

    Sounds great. I love the tattooed wings on the cover.

  8. 2 May 2012 3:58 pm

    Kick-butt cover, Shona, amongst all the other Goblin-y goodness. Great review Aimee.

Comments are closed.