Skip to content

Author spotlight: Stella Quinn

19 August 2021

In the lead-up to ARR2021 in December we will be spotlighting the authors who will be signing. In the spotlight today we have Stella Quinn.

Who was the first romance author to catch your interest?

Georgette Heyer

What do you write?

I write contemporary romance. I have one series that has a beach-read vibe: adventure, island-based escapism. I am currently publishing small-town rural romance. I write romance in third person, the heat level is lowish, and I adore adore ADORE having fun, quirky secondary characters.

Which usually comes to you first—characters or plot (or something else)?

Characters, definitely.

Choose one of your books to turn into a movie—who would you cast in the lead roles?

I’ve had a ton of feedback from The Vet from Snowy River suggesting it would make a great TV series 🙂 For Josh, the adorable vet, I’m imagining a cross between Simon Baker and Ryan Gosling. For Graeme, the barista, I’m imagining Tom Ellis from Lucifer. For Vera, maybe Sigrid Thornton from Sea Change.

Tell us about your latest release in 100 words or less:

The Vet from Snowy River. A hot vet. A rebellious teenager. And meddling but well-meaning townsfolk. Vera gets more than she bargains for when she runs off to a new life in the country … A fresh and funny rural romance, perfect for readers of Alissa Callen and Rachael Johns.

What else are you working on in 2021?

I’ve just sent the first draft of a rural romance into my publishers, Harper Collins. I’d love to be able to tell you all about it but no can do at the moment in case big edits are planned! I’m now going back to a half-finished manuscript that I have engaged to do for Sweet Promise Press (a USA series). It’s category romance, so I’m only about 20,000 words off finishing that one, and I’m hoping to get it done by mid-September, as I expect my edits will be back from Harper Collins by then.

I’m also having a stab (pun intended!) at a crime short story for a competition, because I love writing across different genres. I’m calling it ‘my lunch time writing’, as I don’t really have time to take any more projects on, so I just snatch twenty minutes or so a day that I would just otherwise waste scrolling through my phone reading COVID statistics …

Stella’s latest releases:

You can find more information on Stella on her website.

If you haven’t booked your ticket for ARR2021 yet, you can buy one HERE.

Already have your ticket? Join us in the ARR2021 Facebook group.

 

 

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: