Skip to content

Release day: The House of Second Chances

12 February 2019

Today is the official release of The House of Second Chances by Esther Campion (trade paperback and ebook, Hachette Australia). Here’s the blurb:

Can a house heal heartache? From coastal Australia to the rugged beauty of Ireland, an enchanting novel of starting over, in the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney

Their grandmother’s stone cottage was always a welcome retreat in the childhood summers of Ellen and Aidan O’Shea. After a trip home from Australia, Ellen is keen to bring the neglected property back to its former glory and enlists the help of her dear friend and one of Ireland’s top interior designers, Colette Barry.

Aidan is already begrudging the work on the house he has avoided for nearly twenty years. The last thing the builder needs is an interior designer who seems to do nothing but complicate his life. With their own personal heartaches to overcome, will Aidan and Colette find the courage to give the house and themselves a second chance?

Esther dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

Thanks, ARRA, for having me back with my second novel. The story is set around the renovation of an old farmhouse in West Cork, a beautiful part of Ireland. Builder Aidan O’ Shea has been avoiding his grandmother’s house for almost twenty years, but when his sister in Australia decides to turn the house into a business, he is thrust on to the project along with Ellen’s interior designer friend, Colette Barry. Colette is keen to get on with the job but when her ideas come up against resistance from Aidan, she is in for some challenging times. Both Aidan and Colette are struggling with the hurts of past lives, but the house presents an opportunity for healing, if only they can get out of their own way.

You can find out more about this book, including buy links, at Hachette.

Comments are closed.