Skip to content

Guest blogger: Sandy Vaile

16 July 2017

I’m a motorbike-riding daredevil who isn’t happy with a story unless there’s a courageous heroine and a dead body. So is it any wonder that my latest heroine, Neve, has been trained in guerrilla warfare tactics by her ex-veteran father, and is handy with a bow and arrow?

I think I’d been watching way too much of those doomsday prepper shows on TV at the time I came up with this story idea. Those people are so passionate about being able to protect their loved ones, and I wanted to show that in a woman who was comfortable in the native bushland, but had to face an enemy that was more powerful than her. And so Neve came to life. She’s the kind of woman I could relate to, and who is willing to put everything on the line for a child that isn’t hers.

Neve is inherently private, and hates everything money stands for, since a rich drunk driver killed half her family and got off scot-free. So, letting mega-rich Micah into her home or heart is the last thing she wants … but she won’t let someone die in her place again, and if that means working with the billionaire, so be it.

Neve isn’t used to having her minimalistic lifestyle scrutinised, and is surprised how comfortable Micah seems in her bush shack. There is more to this entrepreneur than meets the eye, and as his professional persona fades, a potent and unexpected attraction ignites.

I love writing about spirited women, because I mean equally amazing real life women all the time, and like to think I might be one myself. 🙂 I’ve certainly had some amazing life experiences. Right now I’m lucky enough to live amongst the vineyards on the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia. It is one of the most beautiful places in the world, which is why I set my books there. Of course, to avoid offending any of the locals, I have changed the town name, but there are plenty of landmarks that are recognisable.

I’d love to hear about the types of heroines you like to read, and your own life adventures.

You can find Sandy here: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Combatting Fear

How far would you go to save a child that wasn’t yours?

Mild-mannered kindergarten teacher, Neve Botticelli, leads a double life. At home with her paranoid father, she is a combat trained survivalist who lives off-the-grid.

When self-made billionaire, Micah Kincaid, storms into town in search of his four-year-old son, Rowan, he’s pushy, entitled, and stands for everything Neve despises.

But something far more sinister than a cheating estranged wife, is lurking in rural Turners Gully, and it has its sights set on little Rowan’s inheritance. It turns out there is one thing Micah and Neve can agree on, and that’s keeping Rowan safe.

As they work together to free Rowan, they glimpse beneath one another’s guises. Falling in love could be even more dangerous than hunting deadly criminals.

 

2 Comments
  1. 16 July 2017 1:00 pm

    Aha. This sounds really great, Sandy.

    • sandyvaile permalink
      16 July 2017 6:19 pm

      Hi Vonnie, I love to write and read courageous heroines who are happy to take action. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you read it.

Comments are closed.