Skip to content

Guest blogger: Isabella Hargreaves

14 May 2017

Happy Mother’s Day!

I hope you have a wonderful day celebrating your special mother, and your importance to your family if you’re a mother too. I look forward to morning tea or lunch with my family, usually at a new-to-me café or tea shop—I’m a complete sucker for Devonshire or cream teas (call them what you will). Over the years, we’ve visited heritage-listed properties, had BBQs and picnics in bushland settings, in parks and on beach foreshores. In my home town of Brisbane, the month of May means the heat of summer has finally passed, days are usually fine and the temperature is just right for outdoor events. This year I’m revisiting a favourite pancake place of my youth for the first time in about 30 years.

The relationship between mothers and daughters is a special and complicated one. Just how complex and important we sometimes don’t realise until our mother is no longer with us. I discovered this at age 27 when my mother passed away. That relatively early loss has had a large impact on my life. Hope Edelman’s book: Motherless Daughters*, about the effects of losing one’s mother early in life, shows that the younger one is, the greater the effect, but also found that it doesn’t matter what age you are when your mother passes away, there is still a major impact.

This is definitely a wound that romance writers have used with the heroine often adrift in life because of her motherless state. Sometimes another woman has stepped into the mothering role, such as Lady Russell, Anne Eliot’s godmother in Jane Austen’s Persuasion. The stepmother without motherly empathy for her stepdaughter is a well-known villain (think Cinderella, Snow White).

This year, with the importance of mothers and Mother’s Day on my mind, I decided to write a few short stories about women whose lives are at crossroads. Two of the stories in Regency Rescues: Three Short Sweet Romances, which is published today, feature Regency-era mothers and this role is an important factor in the stories.

The central question within Regency Rescues is: Can the gentlemanly heroes save the women they love? Here’s a little about the individual stories:

‘Gentleman to the Rescue’: Clarissa Lanstone has been dragged to the altar by her cousin to marry old Squire Barns. Will Captain Tom Whittlesea, the love of her life, arrive in time to save her?

‘An Officer and a Gentleman’: Marianne Chaseley receives the worst news a mother can hear. Can Major Oliver Hurst convince her to let him help her one last time?

‘A True Gentleman’: Lady Emma Blanche is trapped in a situation no woman should endure. Her husband’s valet, John Wright, knows he must help her, but can they escape Sir Henry Blanche?

To help celebrate Mother’s Day I’m giving away two copies of the book. Just go to my website here and leave a comment in response to my post about Regency Rescues.

Isabella Hargreaves

You can find Isabella here: Website | Facebook | Twitter

(* Hope Edelman, Motherless Daughters: The Legacy of Loss, 1994.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. lynette williams permalink
    15 May 2017 10:24 am

    as I have 3 daughters I know a lot about problems with them when they are growing up congratulations on your new book I am looking forward to reading it—-Lyn W

Leave a Reply

