Skip to content

Favourite reads: Oct 2016

5 November 2016

Books_purpleWelcome to our Favourite Reads for October. Each month some of ARRA’s members will tell you a little bit about one of the books they’ve recently read and loved.

These are not full reviews of the books, just honest opinions on why they enjoyed the book so much. Hopefully one of these will strike a chord with you.

So, we asked our members to tell us about some of their favourite reads for October …

Mark of the Demon by Diana Rowland (book 1, Kara Gillian series) (paranormal/urban fantasy)

mark-of-the-demonPolice detective by day and demon summoner by night, Kara Gillian does it all. Diana Rowland does the impossible and makes police procedural, demons and their summoning sexy. It makes me want to become a cop and find my own sexy demon to summon! There are currently eight books in this series and they must be read in order. FYI ‘Rhyzkahl’ is pronounced ‘REEZ-call’ and you can find other pronunciations on Diana Rowland’s website, be warned if you do decide to check the pronunciations this way you may get some spoilers! [Juliette, Vic]

First Star I See Tonight by Susan Elizabeth Phillips (book 8, Chicago Stars series) (contemporary romance)

first-star-i-see-tonightThis book was a welcome return to the Chicago Stars series, even if that mostly meant catching up with past characters, not any actual football action. The hero (Cooper) and heroine (Piper) were a great couple. Piper was smart and also smart-mouthed, one of my favourite things, and she didn’t stand back and watch when there was something she could do to help. Often with hilarious results. Cooper might have been bemused by Piper, but it didn’t take him long to figure her out. I absolutely loved this book! [Debbie, ACT]

Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn (book 1, Rokesbys series) (historical romance)

because-of-miss-bridgertonI loved revisiting the Bridgerton family in this prequel. It doesn’t matter if you’ve never read any of their stories, because this one stands alone … and I’m sure you’ll be searching out more asap anyway! Billie Bridgerton was sassy, tomboyish, smart and took no nonsense from the slightly stuffy Rokesby heir—who turned out very unexpectedly heroic in the end. One delight in this book, and there were *many*, was revisiting the game of Pall Mall and The Mallet of Death. Hilariously excellent! [Malvina, NSW]

Kidnapped by the Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden (book 4, Nine Circles series) (contemporary romance)

kidnapped-by-the-billionaireOMG I loved this one! This is the first book in this series that I have read and I need to catch up on them all. Ms Ashenden has never disappointed me in one of her stories and truly this one is a beauty: a powerful emotional story of revenge and love and saving people. I could barely put this one down. Yes it is hot and steamy, and the strength of both the hero and heroine is amazing. I highly recommend this one. [Helen, NSW]

Dark Minds by Michelle Diener (book 3, Class 5 series) (futuristic romance)

dark-mindsI thoroughly enjoyed this last book in the Class 5 series and my only complaint is I wish there was more to come. Once again we have a very strong heroine, complemented by a sexy hero and very important side characters. We get to see the protagonists from the other books again and they, and the plot, all come together for a great finale. I particularly enjoyed the importance of music in the novels and the author’s clever song choices to accompany important moments. [Deb, NSW]

Amour et Chocolat series by Laura Florand (contemporary romance)

the-chocolate-kissI’ve had a bit of a glom on this series. Set in modern-day Paris, each hero is a French chocolatier—a maker of exquisite boutique chocolate. There are four books so far in the series. I was recommended the second one, The Chocolate Kiss, but I decided to start with the first one, The Chocolate Thief, and though it was okay, it turned out to be my least favorite. But I can say I found books 2, 3 and 4 utterly yummy and romantic. They can be read independently, though there is some connection between them. [Anne, Vic]

Graced by Amanda Pillar (book 1, Graced series) (urban fantasy)

gracedI read the Graced novella Captive before I read Graced, so I knew I was in for a good read, but this book exceeded all of my expectations. I had a silly grin on my face as I was reading it, loving every word. The characters are intriguing and the world rich and so full of life I kept forgetting it wasn’t real. This book is such an addictive read you should make sure you find a good hiding place to read it as you will threaten death and dismemberment to anyone who interrupts you while you are reading. I know I will devour any new Graced books just as compulsively. [Shelley, Qld]

Curse on the Land by Faith Hunter (book 2, Soulwood series) (urban fantasy)

curse-on-the-landIf you are into quirky–serious, the heroine of the Soulwood novels, Nell, who first appeared in a Jane Yellowrock book, is for you. Don’t let her being born into a polygamist, technology-shunning sect put you off. Nell is independent, practical and warily open to change. She’s also smart, not quite human and has a backbone of iron (not literally). A story for those who enjoy page turning, paranormal investigations with romantic elements. Read Blood of the Earth first and never look at your garden the same way again. [Gina, NSW]

Comments are closed.