Skip to content

Release day: Backpack and a Red Dress

15 August 2016

Today is the official release of Backpack and a Red Dress by Maddie Jane (ebook, Escape Publishing). Here’s the blurb:

Backpack and a red dressA fresh contemporary romance about a lonely girl looking for love, family and the perfect dress.

Managing a flailing second-hand clothes shop in an English village is not part of Cally Kirkwood’s life plan. But she’s travelled across the world to meet her birth father and she won’t leave until he acknowledges her.

But life happens when you’re busy making plans, and Cally soon finds herself completely invested in converting the grungy shop into a beautiful vintage clothing store, despite the opposition of her new employer’s son, Sam Hunter.
Sam is instantly attracted to Cally but can’t figure her out. There’s something she isn’t telling him and he doesn’t know whether to trust her—yet he can’t stay away.

An unexpected discovery means Cally must decide whether her true loyalty lies with her father or Sam. She thought she’d do anything to find love; but choosing between her past and her future may leave her with no love at all.

Maddie dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

When I was in my early twenties I hoisted my backpack onto my back and headed off to Europe on my OE. Many adventures later, having completely run out of money, I arrived in England to look for a job and ended up getting temporary work in a gift shop. In Backpack and a Red Dress Cally Kirkwood is a hard-working Kiwi girl who travels to the UK hoping to get answers from her unknown biological father. I enjoyed writing Cally’s story, which is set in a fictional English village. I hope if you read it, you enjoy it too.

You can find out more about this book at Maddie’s website or buy it from Escape.

4 Comments
  1. allisonbutler permalink
    15 August 2016 5:43 pm

    Happy Release Day, Maddie!!! It was lovely meeting you in NZ🙂 Best wishes xx

  2. lynette williams permalink
    15 August 2016 10:53 am

    congratulations on the release –sounds like a book to read—-LynW

  3. 15 August 2016 9:59 am

    Happy release day and I am with Malvina this one sounds good🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Malvina permalink
    15 August 2016 9:05 am

    What a fabulous sounding book. I’m going to put this one on my list. Congratulations!

Comments are closed.