Skip to content

Guest blogger: Sylvia McDaniel

24 July 2016

Sylvia McDanielThis year has been a very difficult year for me as a writer. I feel like the Western genre is flooded, my contemporaries—which I love—don’t seem to get much exposure and, well, I’ve been experiencing a writer’s slump. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, I love creating stories, but well, I’ve had the doldrums this year.

With over thirty books under my belt, I struggle to find plots that are new and different. There are only twenty plots in the world and I’ve probably written every one of them. As an author you have to start looking outside the box for ways to keep the writing fresh and interesting for not only your readers, but yourself.

About five years ago, I almost sold a book to Grand Central Publishing. I had been trying to break into the women’s fiction/contemporary line and they came very close to buying the book, but eventually said no. So for grins, I pulled the manuscript out from under the bed and gave it a thorough editing because, frankly, the world is a lot different from when I wrote this book. I think flip phones are just about dead and several other references no longer worked.

To me this is one of my favourite books because it deals with mother, grandmother and daughter relationships. Oh yes, it’s a romance, but it’s not your typical boy meets girl and falls in love. And how many writers start a book with the wife taking her husband’s clothes over to his mistress’s—aka dominatrix’s—house? No, it’s not a book about BDSM. But what would you do if you found out your husband was cheating again?

Here in the states we have a reality show called Cheaters. You can hire them to find out if your spouse is having an affair. And of course there is a film crew following every move. While watching this show one night, I got the idea of my heroine saying she’s had enough and delivering her spouse’s clothes to his dominatrix. Thus begins the journey of Secrets, Lies and Online Dating.

Publishing this book gave my creative spirit a boost, along with changing genres. I needed to hit the restart button and get out of the west for a while.

You can find Sylvia here: Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

SecretsSecrets, Lies and Online Dating

One event changes the lives of three women.

A lie changes Marianne Larson’s perfect world leading her on a journey of self-discovery. Brenda Jones, her mother, objects to being left behind and sets off on her own adventure. Katie Larson starts college and discovers that growing up is not as easy as she originally thought.

Can three generations recreate their lives and learn that their bond is stronger than secrets, lies, and on-line dating?

Available from: Amazon | Nook | iBooks | Kobo | Google

4 Comments
  1. Veronica permalink
    24 July 2016 7:00 pm

    Secrets, lies and online dating sounds like a great read. I love how you’ve incorporated three generations of women as each generation has differing ideas on just about everything.
    I hope it is well received.

    • 25 July 2016 8:02 am

      Hi Veronica,
      Writing three generations of women was quite challenging. They certainly were very vocal with their differing ideas of how life should be. The young college girl was the hardest to write and I had a young woman edit the book who was just out of school to make certain I had her written correctly. I made a lot of changes at her suggestion and I think the book is better because of her.

  2. Sandy permalink
    24 July 2016 12:20 pm

    Sylvia, I can relate to what you are saying. As authors, sometimes we have to take a sharp right-hand turn or maybe a complete turn-around and write something different from what we normally write. I’ve recently done the same thing and it’s quite challenging, but refreshing. I wish you mega sales for your book.

    • 25 July 2016 8:03 am

      Thank you Sandy. Every year now I’m going to try to write one book in a different time period that what I normally write in. It was really helpful to think of something other than Cowboys.

Comments are closed.