Skip to content

Release day: Homeworld

30 June 2016

Today is the official release of Homeworld by Valerie Parv (book 3, Beacon series)(ebook, Momentum Publishing). Here’s the blurb:

HomeworldLeaving Earth may be the only way to save it.

An alien warship looms over Earth, and the only beings with the power to stand in its way are scattered to the winds. The beacons’ messenger, Adam, has mysteriously vanished, and the watcher, Elaine, is a prisoner aboard the alien ship. Only the listener, Garrett, remains, and he must use any means available to reunite the beacons and save the planet.

Enlisting the help of celebrity Amelia Takei, Garrett is determined to answer the alien threat, but the warship’s captain has demands. Convinced that they played a part in condemning her race to a barren planet, the captain intends to force the beacons to take her to their home planet to seek revenge.

The beacons have an impossible choice – surrender to the alien captain’s demands, or put their adopted planet at even greater risk by fighting back. In a last-ditch attempt to turn defeat into a chance for the planet’s survival, Garrett and Amelia risk a daring raid on their enemy in space, where they make a startling discovery. Sometimes those you trust most can destroy you.

Valerie dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

With every book I write, I try to do something new but the Beacon series was still quite a stretch. I used to help organise Star Trek conventions and avidly followed every Apollo and shuttle mission. These passions plus my love of romantic suspense came together and the series grew from there. Homeworld is my favourite because I not only put my aliens through every ordeal I could devise, but as it’s the conclusion to the series, I gave them the happy ending they’d well and truly earned. On the way, I had a few ordeals of my own. The alien commander out for revenge on the beacons told me she was a weather engineer. Until then I had no idea that’s a real profession, but what this lady does with weather is beyond anything we humans can do, luckily for us. Having my beacons take her on in space was a real buzz, and I have to thank the talented designers of the Bombardier Global Express private jets for showing me how to make this work. By the end of writing Homeworld I was exhausted—I guess saving the planet will do that to you.

You can find out more about this book at Valerie’s website or buy it from Momentum.

One Comment
  1. lynette williams permalink
    30 June 2016 11:37 am

    I have the other 2 now get this one –congratulations on the release—–LynW

Comments are closed.