Skip to content

Guest blogger: DB Tait

24 April 2016

DB TaitOne of the unintended consequences of writing a lot, is a sedentary lifestyle. I am overweight. Seriously overweight. And yes, the amount of reading and watching Netflix I do, doesn’t help. I hate exercise and I’m lazy about cooking because I live alone.

I’m planning a trip to the US later this year to see my sister, and after a recent trip to Queensland, I realised I need to lose weight. A lot of weight. I won’t be fit enough to schlep bags around America if I don’t shed some kilos.

So I decided to do the Michael Mosely eight-week blood sugar diet.

Before you roll your eyes and stop reading, this is not a post about diets, which would be very boring. It’s about the strange bits of research and knowledge that writers come across in their day and store away for a future story.

Side note: this post is also not an advertisement for the Blood Sugar Diet. I decided to do it after some research. If you want to lose weight, do your research and talk to your doctor.

Losing weight is one of those difficult things that is easy to abandon. I decided to keep myself accountable through, you guessed it, a blog. I’m tracking my daily progress with eating as a way to keep myself motivated.

But it’s a boring blog if it’s only that. So I’ve included in each post the bits and pieces that catch my eye during the day.

It’s turned out I’m developing a record of all the stories I come across that I might use in future novels.

Like this story about acromegaly. Apparently the actors who played Jaws in the James Bond movies and Lurch in the Addams Family both suffered from this condition. When I read that, my mind immediately went to the possibility of a character whose appearance was so altered, no one recognised him. Good for a villain.

Or one of my favourite blogs Eye Prefer Paris on window boxes. I’d love to set a super romantic story in Paris but as Deborah Tait who writes contemporary romance, not DB Tait, who’s a bit darker.

Story ideas come out of nowhere so it’s good to be prepared. When I wrote Cold Deception, my first flash of an idea was seeing an image of a solitary woman walking down the long tree-lined driveway of Emu Plains Correctional Centre, suitcase in hand. Who was she, where was she going and most importantly, what had she done?

To celebrate (or commiserate, depending on your outlook) my new-found determination to lose weight, it’s give away time! Leave a comment below and you’ll go into the draw for an ebook copy of Cold Deception. The giveaway closes on 8 May. (The giveaway is now closed. The winner was Jay H.)

You can find DB Tait here: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Cold DeceptionCold Deception

Julia Taylor went to prison for murdering a man who deserved it. Ten years later, she’s ready to put the past behind her and get on with her life. But someone won’t let her. Someone will do anything to drive Julia away, including murder.

As the body count rises, Julia is forced to accept the help of Dylan Andrews, a cop with dark secrets of his own. Unfortunately help has a cost. Dylan is digging into Julia’s past, uncovering secrets she is desperate to keep.

13 Comments
  1. Lynette williams permalink
    25 April 2016 9:26 am

    PS as I already have both books please leave me out of draw——–LynW

  2. Lynette williams permalink
    25 April 2016 9:24 am

    I went on my own diet as –lost weight but now seem stuck on the one weight —-loved both “Deception ” books –I hope there are more—LynW

  3. Malvina permalink
    25 April 2016 8:40 am

    Inspiring post, Deb! We’re all there…! I’m about to being again as well. Always a battle. I think your blog will be inspiring, I’m going to surf on in and enjoy. Here’s to a new you!

  4. 24 April 2016 8:46 pm

    Here’s a punny comment – hopefully to send you to your key-board, rather than the cup-board! I love a delicious suspense story. Something to be devoured in one sitting. Feeds the mind and satisfies the soul. Food for thought?
    But seriously Deb, best wishes for working towards your new you. Love the blog idea, and great to keep all the other info in there too. I have so many saved links in Facebook I need a week or two to catch up. I’m about to buy a Fitbit to give me reminders to move every 50 minutes (& track my activity) – it’s too easy to stay at the desk writing and getting distracted on the Internet otherwise. Cheers. Jay.

  5. 24 April 2016 12:41 pm

    Hi Deb

    Good on you as you know I too am on a diet although I go to Weight Watchers and am loving it I have lost 25.1 kg now and am walking every day food choices are changing as are portion sizes. Woohoo.

    Leave me out of the draw I have read this one what a great story🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 24 April 2016 5:56 pm

      You are my role model Helen. You looked fabulous at the ARRA dinner.

  6. Mary Preston permalink
    24 April 2016 12:23 pm

    You have taken the first step. Well done you.

    I carry some weight but my doctor is not concerned. I am healthy. It’s a good thing I love to walk. I run errands on foot.

    • 24 April 2016 5:58 pm

      Good on you Mary. My next plan is to increase exercise.

  7. enisah permalink
    24 April 2016 12:21 pm

    Hi DB. Fabulous post. Full of positivity for what you’re doing both in watching your weight and in getting on with your writing. I love the rom sus genre and your book sounds just right for cuddling up and immersing myself in. Congrats on your ventures.

  8. 24 April 2016 11:41 am

    Very inspiring blog post, DB. I know you will smash this weight lose challenge.

    I’m sure a while ago I saw something on one of Michael M’s shows that just walking half an hour a day also does amazing things for weight lose and body biomechanics. I really enjoy this shows.

  9. 24 April 2016 11:39 am

    What a fab post! Thanks, DB. And how fascinating was that article about acromegaly? Cushing’s I’d heard of but not that. Really cool idea to keep a blog too. That’s a great idea and very handy to have a record of how/where you found interesting things.

  10. 24 April 2016 11:38 am

    Thanks for that Eye Prefer Paris tip, DB. What a great site! I loved Cold Deception – fascinating characters and a terrific sense of place.

Comments are closed.