Skip to content

Release day: Rose’s Vintage

18 April 2016

Today is the official release of Rose’s Vintage by Kayte Nunn (trade paperback, Black Inc Books). Here’s the blurb:

Rose's VintageBritish blow-in, Rose Bennett, is heartbroken, overweight, irritable and a long way from home. She isn’t sure what exactly she’s doing at Kalkari Wines in the Australian Shingle Valley – it’s the middle of winter and far from the lush, romantic vineyard setting she’d been expecting.

Her brother thinks she’s spying for him, her bad-tempered new boss thinks she’s the au pair and the nanny can’t wait for her to clean the place up. Discovering pagan bonfire ceremonies, bizarre winemaking practices and a valley full of eccentric locals, Rose just wishes she’d ended up somewhere a bit warmer.
But as the weather improves, the valley reveals its beauty, and Rose starts to fall in love: with the valley, the wines, the two children she’s helping to look after, and one of the men there.

When her boss’s estranged wife returns and her brother descends, wanting answers, Rose is torn between staying put or cutting her losses.

Kayte dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

The character of Rose came to me one day as I was sitting in a beach-side cafe on a grey rainy day and began to imagine what it would be like to arrive in Australia and find it was nothing like you had expected it to be. I went home and began writing, and Rose’s Vintage is the result. I wanted to set it in a small, quirky community and, given my background, a fictional wine region seemed the ideal place for romantic shenanigans!

You can find out more about this book at Kayte’s website or buy it from Booktopia.

All ARRA members who leave a comment on this post will go in the draw to win a copy of the book. (The giveaway closed on 2 May 2016. The winner was LynetteW.)

4 Comments
  1. 2 May 2016 11:32 am

    I arrived in Australia, unpacked my suitcases and sat down and sobbed. What on earth had possessed me to leave my comfort zone and travel thousands of miles?
    It was nothing like I expected it to be. Turns out it was a million times better – once I got over the heat, humidity, cyclones, flies and found a supply of UK Marmite. Sorry, Australia, but Vegemite just doesn’t do it for me.
    So I love the sound of Rose and want to get to know if she settled into her new home too.

  2. Lynette williams permalink
    20 April 2016 7:55 am

    good review cant wait to read it —–LynW

  3. 18 April 2016 2:57 pm

    Hi Kayte

    WOW this one sounds really good happy release day🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. Malvina permalink
    18 April 2016 12:03 pm

    I’ve had my eye on this one for a while, it looks terrific! Hope your release goes wonderfully well, congratulations!

Comments are closed.