Skip to content

Release day: The House by the Lake

29 March 2016

Today is the official release of The House by the Lake by Ella Carey (ebook and paperback, Lake Union Publishing). Here’s the blurb:

The HouseAnna is content with her well-ordered life in San Francisco. But her world is turned upside down when her beloved grandfather, Max, reveals a startling secret: Anna is part of an aristocratic family who lost everything during World War II. What’s more, Max was forced to leave behind a precious item over seventy years ago in their estate in old Prussia. It’s now his ardent wish that Anna retrieve it.

Anna burns with questions as she heads for Germany: What memento could be so important to her grandfather? And why did he keep their history hidden? As she searches for answers, she finds herself drawn to Wil, a man who may hold the key to unlock the mystery. Together they discover that her family’s secrets are linked with an abandoned apartment in Paris, and these secrets go deeper than she ever imagined.

Alternating between 1930s Europe and the present, The House by the Lake illuminates the destiny of a family caught in the tumult of history.

Ella dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

The House By The Lake is a very special book to me. I was inspired to write it after a trip to Berlin, during which I was lucky enough to travel right into the old East. A dear friend of mine is descended from a family who were forced to flee their stunning old family home (a palace just out of Berlin) in 1946 when the Soviets were about to invade. The family lost everything. I read my friend’s mother’s memoirs of her life in the 1930s in their stunning old palace. The romantic setting, Berlin and Marthe de Florian’s famous abandoned apartment in Paris inspired my dual narrative—a tender 1930s love story set in Germany and Paris, and a contemporary story about Anna and Wil. I hope you enjoy the book! It will always hold a very dear place for me.

You can find out more about this book at Ella’s website or buy it from Amazon.

5 Comments
  1. Lynette williams permalink
    30 March 2016 11:24 am

    congratulations on the release –as I enjoyed “the Paris Time Capsule” I am now looking forward to reading this release—LynW

  2. 29 March 2016 11:49 am

    Happy release day Ella. Already reviewed on Goodreads and will add it to Amazon in the morning here in the US.

    • 29 March 2016 1:04 pm

      Thank you so much Janie! Much appreciated. Lovely of you to call in here too!

  3. 29 March 2016 11:40 am

    Happy release day Ella I have read this one and it is fabulous I highly recommend it beautiful story I loved the setting and slipping back in time and feeling the emotions of being in that era🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 29 March 2016 1:05 pm

      Thank you Helen- I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the book. I loved writing in the 1930s era, and the settings in Paris and Berlin helped bring it all alive. xx

Comments are closed.