Skip to content

Guest blogger: Juanita Kees

27 March 2016

Juanita KeesA town so real

Today I want to tell you about a fictional town so real you’d want to live there. People so rich in character, so loveable and entertaining, you’d want to take them home. Welcome to Bindarra Creek, a struggling country community whose townspeople work hard and love deeply.

Set in the tablelands of New England, Australia, Bindarra Creek is a drought-stricken community full of intrigue, adventure, drama and honest country goodness. Life and love in a small country town has never been more challenging.

‘A Bindarra Creek Romance’ is the brainchild of romance author SE Gilchrist who had a vision and invited her fellow Hunter Romance Writers into a collaborative writing venture that took Amazon’s Westerns (small town) category by storm. Since the release of the series in July 2015 with SE’s Bindarra Creek Makeover, these standalone stories written by thirteen different authors have dominated the top twenty spots on Amazon in their category.

What made this series so special is the bond the thirteen authors formed during the planning stages, and the love and hard work that went into every story as each of the authors put their own individual stamp on the series. We found ourselves so invested in this town and its people, it felt real. Not only did we create a town and characters we loved, we also forged strong friendship bonds that will carry us far beyond the last book in the series.

My characters, Dan and Alice, from Home to Bindarra Creek were born out of the community spirit of the preceding novels. As book six in the series, I had my work cut out for me to match the talent of popular authors like Lee Christine, Susanne Bellamy, Sandie James, Kerrie Paterson and, of course, SE Gilchrist. The line-up to follow was just as talented, with well-known YA author, Stacey Nash, hot on my heels and fellow romantic suspense author, Erin Moira O’Hara, only one book away.

Even though I was part of this series myself, I have waited on every new release with excitement and anticipation as each author takes the reader on a new journey with a different voice yet still manages to embrace the community spirit and feature characters from preceding stories. These ladies are very clever storytellers and I am proud to be part of this collaborative writing (ad)venture, which has made Home to Bindarra Creek the book that keeps on giving.

We’re just over halfway in this series, with books still to come from Linda Charles, Lauren K McKellar, Simone Angela, Marianne Theresa and Noelle Clark. Each one can be read as a standalone, so it doesn’t matter which one you read first. Come on, go and see what the fuss is all about …

Home to Bindarra CreekHome to Bindarra Creek

When fate brings together two lost souls, it’s time to leave the shadows behind and come home to Bindarra Creek…

Alice Pritchard has learned to live with her haunted past. She’s comfortable in her cocoon in sleepy Bindarra Creek, but with rejuvenation of the town, she has let go of the memories.

Dan Molyneaux roars into her life in his high-powered V8 and reopens the Riverside Pub forcing her to face her ghosts. Slowly he melts the ice around her heart, but love always comes at a cost.

Writing fun, action-packed, sexy stories filled with feisty, caring characters ready to risk everything for love.

Juanita graduated from the Australian College QED, Bondi with a diploma in proofreading, editing and publishing, and achieved her dream of becoming a published author in 2012 with the release of her debut romantic suspense, Fly Away Peta.

Under the Hood (Book 1 in the Tag Raiders series) followed in 2013 as one of the first releases from Harlequin’s digital pioneer, Escape Publishing.

In 2014 Juanita was nominated for the Lynn Wilding (Romance Writers of Australia) Volunteer Award, and was a finalist in the Romance Writers Australia Romantic Book of the Year and the Australian Romance Readers Awards.

She escapes the real world to write stories starring spirited heroines who give the hero a run for his money before giving in.

You can find Juanita here: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Bindarra Creek | Amazon

22 Comments
  1. noelleclarkblog permalink
    29 March 2016 6:58 am

    Beautifully written article, Juanita. I am so humbled and blessed to be a part of the Bindarra Creek mob. Each book so far is a joy to read. Thanks to SE Gilchrist and all the authors for such a wonderful series about an awesome little town.

    • 29 March 2016 10:19 am

      Looking forward to Buckley’s Chance, Noelle! Great title😀

  2. Len Klumpp permalink
    28 March 2016 5:54 pm

    What!!!! It’s not a real town. In my heart it is. I love this series. When I turn the page on the Calendar each Month, I give the air a fist pump because I know very soon I will be visiting all my wonderful friends in Bindarra Creek.

    • 28 March 2016 7:03 pm

      Ha ha, Len😀 In my heart it’s a real town too! And I’ll admit to a little happy dancing with every new release myself😉

  3. Lynette williams permalink
    28 March 2016 8:12 am

    I have read 9 books in the series & have enjoyed all of them they can be read as stand alone books as well –I am waiting for book 10 to be released next month—Lynw

    • 28 March 2016 1:23 pm

      That’s great to hear, Lynette! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed them all😀

  4. 28 March 2016 7:34 am

    What a fabulous idea to write collaboratively like that. Do you all get together to critique your stories first? Or outlines? I certainly want to read all of the series now. And wish I lived in a place a bit bigger than the western Victorian version of Bindarra Creek to have access to such a writing community. Thanks for sharing Jaunita.

    • 28 March 2016 1:25 pm

      Hi Jay, we had a lot of planning around the outlines and yes, some of us did critique among ourselves. There were a lot of emails flying around and quite a bit of brainstorming happening😀 I hope you enjoy the series.

  5. 27 March 2016 9:56 pm

    Great post Juanita. Its been an exciting and fun ride with wonderful writers who’ve become special friends.

  6. kerriepaterson permalink
    27 March 2016 8:38 pm

    It’s been such fun writing as part of this series, and I agree – it’s like we could move there. After all, there’s so many hunky guys there, why shouldn’t we?!🙂

    • 27 March 2016 11:04 pm

      100% correct😉

    • Len Klumpp permalink
      28 March 2016 5:57 pm

      Don’t forget some of the gorgeous Women as well

      • 28 March 2016 7:04 pm

        Yes, and the gorgeous ladies too. Not to mention some of the colourful supporting characters😉

  7. 27 March 2016 7:57 pm

    Finally got to this series and literally can’t wait to dive in. I’m in such awe of this project and so proud to call so many of its authors my much loved friends. Including, of course, you, my lovely Juanita. I wish you all continued success – but I doubt you need it; there’s a whole mountain of talent in this series! Xxxxxxx

    • 27 March 2016 11:06 pm

      Kaz❤ You legend xxx I'm in awe of the talent in this project. These ladies are awesome. Thank you for your good wishes.

  8. 27 March 2016 12:43 pm

    Hi Juanita

    I have the first one in this series waiting for me and I have heard nothing but good things about them all and I am looking forward to them🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 27 March 2016 4:34 pm

      Hi Helen🙂 That’s lovely to hear. I hope you enjoy all the stories. Thanks for saying hi!

  9. 27 March 2016 11:27 am

    Lovely to see you here Juanita and learn more about Bindarra Creek. I’ve read your book and Kerrie Patterson’s in the series and when I get some time, look forward on stocking up with more. It’s been wonderful to see the series doing so well!

    • 27 March 2016 4:36 pm

      Hi Lily, Kerrie’s was a lovely read and look at the wonderful award she’s won as best new romance author! A well deserved achievement😀 Hope you enjoy the rest of the series. I know I did!

  10. sourris25 permalink
    27 March 2016 10:26 am

    I feel certain that I could travel down the New England highway from Armidale and drive into Bindarra Creek. It is a delight to be part of this (ad)venture right along with you, Juanita. Cheers,
    Susanne Bellamy

Comments are closed.