Skip to content

2015 Awards: wrap-up

25 March 2016

Awards DinnerThe winners of the 2015 Australian Romance Readers Awards were announced at our awards dinner in Sydney on 19 March. You can find details of all the winners here.

Shannon Curtis very kindly agreed to be MC of the dinner this year. Knowing Shannon well I think most of the crowd were expecting hi-jinks—and Shannon did try! But after we confiscated her whip and handcuffs she settled into a more traditional MC role and kept everyone entertained for the evening.

This year our guest speaker at dinner was a reader—Kat Mayo.

Awards dinner picturesKat spoke about the influence romance fiction has had on her life and how the genre is finally getting recognition from the literary community and academics. As Kat puts it ‘There’s never been a more exciting time to be a romance reader’.

You can read the speech here or listen to it here.

But of course the night is all about the awards, and there were a number of first-time winners this year—Tea Cooper, Kerrie Paterson, Shannon Curtis, Cathleen Ross and Sarah Mayberry.

Helene Young won in the romantic suspense category again and Rachael Johns won two awards.

But the night belonged to Anne Gracie, who won three categories—Favourite Historical Romance, Favourite Continuing Romance Series and Favourite Australian Romance author—as well as a Members’ Choice award for Strongest Heroine.

Altogether it was a fabulous evening!

Thank you to everyone who came along to the dinner, to Shannon for emceeing and to Kat for speaking. And an enormous thank you to our sponsors—Harlequin Australia, eXtasy Books, Hachette Australia and Booktopia. Without their generous support many readers would not be able to attend the dinner.



Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: