Skip to content

Release day: Just One Kiss

15 December 2015

Today is the official release of Just One Kiss by Susanne Bellamy (Hearts of the Outback) (ebook, self-published). Here’s the blurb:

Just One KissPilot Amy Alistair has been dumped by one good looking man too many, but when the new Flying Doctor, heart-throb, Daniel Middleton, asks her to be his fake girlfriend, she agrees.

Amy is certain she can resist the attraction of this man who holds a secret.

But is Amy as strong as she thinks? Will the truth of Dan’s past tear their love apart?

Susanne dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

Just One Kiss is set in Mt Isa, an area I knew years ago from a stint teaching in Cloncurry. The people were friendly and fun, hardworking and happy, and aside from the heat, I loved discovering this very different part of Australia. My recent #1 bestselling release, Second Chance Love, opened the door to rural romance for me. I loved writing about the lives and loves of Bindarra Creek and really wanted to explore more of rural Australia and the wonderful people I’d come to know, so I took on the NaNoWriMo challenge to write a book in 30 days. The result is Hearts of the Outback, my new rural romance series set in the north-west of Queensland. Rural communities are once again doing it tough in one of the worst droughts in a long time, but the people in these parts of Australia battle on, helping each other and fighting to stay on the land. Their resilience and wonderful sense of community in adverse times made me want to write a series of stories that celebrate this Aussie way of life.

You can find out more about this book on Susanne’s website or Facebook page.

All ARRA members who leave a comment answering Susanne’s question ‘Why do you love reading Aussie rural romance?’ will go in the draw to win a copy of Second Chance Love (A Bindarra Creek Romance). The giveaway will close on 29 December. (The giveaway is now closed. The winner was Lyn W.)

11 Comments
  1. sourris25 permalink
    31 December 2015 1:39 pm

    Congratulations, Lyn W, and thank you to all those who left comments. Lyn, please PM me on FB with your preferred email address for delivery of your prize. (https://www.facebook.com/susanne.bellamy.7) Happy New Year to all!

  2. 29 December 2015 7:46 pm

    I grew up in a small community and still find it odd where I live now that no-one knows what I’m up to, with who and when. The bush telegraph is most definitely not in evidence here.
    Love stories involving small communities, wonderful characters and lasting friendships

    • sourris25 permalink
      29 December 2015 7:59 pm

      Now you have me wondering what is the optimal size for a rural community! My home town neighbourhood used to be like that when I was a kid but not any more. Although I suspect if I was ‘playing up’, someone would see me! Good luck in the draw and thanks for visiting.🙂

  3. Kylie Benson permalink
    28 December 2015 2:50 pm

    I grew up in South West Qld so it’s great to read about rural romances set in Outback Queensland. A touch of home at your fingertips!

    • sourris25 permalink
      29 December 2015 7:57 pm

      Kylie,
      That’s a lovely way to think of it; “a touch of home at your fingertips”! Thanks for dropping in to comment and good luck in the draw.🙂

  4. Yvonne permalink
    17 December 2015 2:00 am

    I love reading about Australian close knit rural communities and enjoy how the characters are written with affection and honesty. The characters inter-relationships and sometimes quirky personalities, seem to reflect the humour and hardiness of the real people that live in our diverse countryside. I reside in a coastal town and I especially appreciate that your focus on rural communities reminds us of what hardships rural people are facing.

    • sourris25 permalink
      17 December 2015 8:17 am

      Hi Yvonne, you’re right about the people living in rural communities; they do it tough but they care very much for those around them. I experienced both their humour and their grit when I lived in north west Queensland, and am thankful I had the opportunity of living in such a wonderful community.
      Thanks for leaving a comment and good luck in the draw.

  5. Malvina permalink
    15 December 2015 9:29 pm

    One of the reasons I love rural romance is because I rarely stay in the country…so I simply love reading about it. It’s a whole new world for this little born and bred city chick. And yet the rural romances have the glorious Aussie flavour I adore. Congratulations!

    • sourris25 permalink
      16 December 2015 12:02 am

      Hi Malvina, what a great reason to read this genre. A taste of the country wherever you are! Thanks for leaving a comment. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas.🙂

  6. lynette williams permalink
    15 December 2015 7:33 am

    I love Aussie rural romances as I can relate to the parts of the country written about —–LynW

    • sourris25 permalink
      15 December 2015 4:44 pm

      A agree, Lynette. I love reading about other parts of our country too. I thoroughly enjoyed my time living in Cloncurry and visiting Mt Isa most weekends. It’s a wonderful part of the country and I made some wonderful friendships when I lived up there.🙂

Comments are closed.