Skip to content

Release day: Knight of Her Dreams

23 October 2015
Today is the official release of Knight of Her Dreams by Alyssa James (book 2, Conquering the Heart series) (ebook and paperback, self-published). Here’s the blurb:

Knight of Her DreamsLady Marguerite and Sir Richard are political enemies. For each of them, loyalty and duty war with personal desire. Can they find a way to remain loyal to their countries yet embrace their love?

Lady Marguerite, Countess of Besancon, is fiercely opposed to King Henry V’s invasion of France. When the Duke of Burgundy offers her a chance to work against the English and avenge the deaths of her father and brothers, she welcomes the opportunity. She doesn’t count on the passion she feels for English knight, Sir Richard of Winchester. Nor does she realise that each firm belief and prejudice she’s held will be seriously challenged.

Sir Richard has sworn an oath of fealty to King Henry V, but disapproves of the carnage and destruction wrought upon Normandy by the English forces. He comes to the aid of Lady Marguerite and is deeply attracted to her. When he discovers she’s a spy, how can he present her to his king for execution. Yet, how can he not?

Alyssa dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

Knight of Her Dreams is a stand-alone read, but follows on from the first story in that it is the story of Sir Richard of Winchester (who featured in Knight of Her Heart). I’ve found the research I’ve done on King Henry V very absorbing. It’s the politics of the day which drives the external conflict of the characters in this book, and which really inspired the plot line of the story. Lady Marguerite is a very spirited, somewhat feminist heroine who is completely committed to the course she takes against the English. Falling in love with an English knight completely throws her and causes her all sorts of angst and conflict. Sir Richard has to be a very strong hero to handle her! So, there are loads of passionate encounters as both are very strong-willed and loyal to their kings and countries and each feels committed to their opposing courses of action—to the point that at one stage I thought I’d written Lady Marguerite into a corner and wondered just how I was going to turn the whole situation around!! I hope you enjoy it.

You can find out more about this book at Alyssa’s website and buy it from Amazon or Createspace.

All ARRA members who leave a comment on this blog article will go in the draw to win a paperback of Knight of Her Heart. The giveaway closes on 6 November. (The giveaway is now closed. The winner was Barbara.)

14 Comments
  1. Yvonne permalink
    27 October 2015 9:04 pm

    Congratulations Alyssa on your release. Looking forward to reading this book and appreciate all your historical research.

    • 28 October 2015 6:27 am

      Thank you, Yvonne. Like many authors of historical novels, I did find the research pulled me in. I read very widely on Henry V, Charles VI and the Duke of Burgundy. If ever I go on Jeopardy, I think I’ll pick Henry V as my topic!!!

  2. Barbara permalink
    23 October 2015 3:04 pm

    Hi Alyssa…. I have to read the first one first and have it on the kindle… so better get reading it so I can read this one… congratulations

    • 23 October 2015 4:21 pm

      Hi Barbara,
      Good luck in the draw!
      There are no spoilers in the second book for the first book, but I know I always like to read series books in the right order.
      I hope you’ll enjoy both stories!
      Enjoy the weekend.
      Alyssa

  3. 23 October 2015 1:07 pm

    Now that I have buy links (which I didn’t have this morning when Cora posted this for me), I know Cora will add them to this page. But, if you want them in a super hurry (fingers crossed! LOL), I have them up on my facebook page.

  4. Malvina permalink
    23 October 2015 12:55 pm

    Fantastic, Alyssa. A lot of people will be waiting for this one! Huge congratulations, you’re going from strength to strength, and gaining so many loving loval readers! Hope you’re having fun!

    • 23 October 2015 1:05 pm

      Thank you Malvina! Thank you for helping me grow stronger as a writer. You’ve done so much to help so many writers along the way.
      We romance writers in Australia are so fortunate to have the strength of RWA and all who’ve volunteered over the years to keep the organisation running. Now, we have the added bonus of ARRA. It’s no wonder Australian romance authors are writing confidently and able to follow their dreams.

  5. 23 October 2015 12:21 pm

    Wonderful to have the next installment Alyssa. I know how passionate you are about your Historical novels so I can’t wait to read this one.

  6. helensibbritt permalink
    23 October 2015 9:08 am

    Hi Alyssa

    Woohoo happy release day I love the cover and this is one I am looking forward to reading🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 23 October 2015 10:53 am

      Hi Helen,
      Having replied to Lynette as “Anonymous” and “Deleted” from my iPhone, I decided I’d better send the rest of my responses from my Laptop!
      Hope you’re having a better day than I am!!
      I hope you enjoy reading it as much as you’re looking forward to reading it!
      Enjoy!
      Alyssa

  7. lynette williams permalink
    23 October 2015 9:05 am

    congratulations on the release –I have been waiting for book 2 —LynW

    • Anonymous permalink
      23 October 2015 10:45 am

      Hi Lyn,
      It was a little later being released than I’d planned because my editor had a very busy schedule and for various reasons I was late contacting him. Then, I had a lovely lady from the UK Historical Novelists Society offer to check all the historical details – which was just too good an opportunity to pass up!
      Anyway, here it is!
      Buy links will come up later (due USA time difference) but it is exclusive to Amazon as an eBook and will be available as a paperback soon.

      • 23 October 2015 10:48 am

        Sorry Lyn – tapped the wrong key…that comment is from me!

        Enjoy your day!
        Alyssa

Comments are closed.