Skip to content

Guest blogger: Nicole Hurley-Moore

14 June 2015

Nicole Hurley-MooreHi everyone

Inspiration is one of those things that authors live for. That moment of excitement when an idea first takes hold and then all of a sudden you have a character, then a scene and finally a whole story brewing in your head.

It’s wonderful heady stuff and just about anything can trigger it. Inspiration can be found all around you. Ideas pop up as you take a walk, catch a snippet of a conversation, look at a photo, read an article or pick up an antique.

But what I’ve discovered is that he/she/it can be fickle, flighty and lead you in directions you never thought of going before.

I adore history and love historical romances; I discovered them when I was about thirteen and have never looked back. It all started with Pride and Prejudice followed quickly by The Scarlet Pimpernel, The Cousin from Fiji, Blake’s Reach, Jane Eyre, Katherine (I still have a crush on John of Gaunt because of this book), Jamaica Inn, the Poldark novels and anything by Johanna Lindsay and Julie Garwood.

So, I thought my path was set in stone when it came to what sub genre I’d write in. I knew in my heart that I was meant to write historical romance. I generally concentrate on the medieval and Victorian eras. I was happy and I love them, so how did I end up writing a rural romance about a sexy sheep farmer from Central Victoria?

Inspiration run amok—that’s how.

I was thinking about lords and ladies and wondering if I should try my hand at something earlier than the 12th century. Maybe a jaunt to 800 AD and a dabble in the Dark Ages was in order when Mac McKellan strolled into my mind with his well fitting jeans and his akubra hat. I tried to push him aside—‘I don’t write contemporary romances’, I said as I reached for my history books but the idea stayed with me and filled my head until Mac’s story was the only thing I could think of.

I grew up and still live in a rural town. I guess inspiration was all around me but I just didn’t see it until Mac showed up. Next thing I know, I’m trudging through paddocks, wandering down creek banks and hanging out in shearing sheds.

So what I’ve learned is to be open to possibilities and you have to follow the inspiration no matter where it may lead.

Nicole x (historical and rural romance writer)

You can find Nicole here: Website | BlogFacebook | Twitter

McKellan's RunMcKellan’s Run

Violet Beckett once made the mistake of falling for the wrong McKellan brother. Now, eight years later, fate has brought Violet back to her home town with her daughter, Holly.

As soon as Violet runs into Charlie ‘Mac’ McKellan, she wonders if she should run all the way back to the city. But something about him makes her want to linger. Can she trust him, can she trust herself or will she be burned again?

Charlie McKellan has had a soft spot for Violet Beckett for longer than he can remember. It almost killed him to watch his brother woo her, use her and finally lose her. From his very first encounter with Violet he’s hooked. But how can he convince her that not all McKellans are the same?

10 Comments
  1. 14 June 2015 6:53 pm

    Glad you couldn’t get rid of Mac 😊

  2. 14 June 2015 3:12 pm

    I love good rural…congrats. Even more I love a hero who can’t be ignored😉

  3. nicolelaverdure88 permalink
    14 June 2015 12:35 pm

    Congratulations Nicole! I really loved McKellan’s Run! I’m excited to read your next one!

  4. 14 June 2015 12:01 pm

    Hi Nicole! I love the premise of McKellan’s Run and can’t wait to read it. What are you working on at the moment?

    • 14 June 2015 12:45 pm

      Thanks Marilyn! I’ve just finished writing another contemporary romance and thinking about toying with the medieval period again.🙂

  5. 14 June 2015 11:15 am

    Thanks so much!🙂

  6. 14 June 2015 11:01 am

    Congratulations Nicole on your debut into contemporary romance. May this be the first of many – Mac sounds lovely and I cant wait to read it.

Comments are closed.