Skip to content

Release day: The Soft Whisper of Dreams

7 March 2015

Today is the official release of The Soft Whisper of Dreams by Christina Courtenay (paperback, Choc Lit). Here’s the blurb:

The Soft Whisper of DreamsSome dreams shouldn’t come true … Maddie Browne thought she’d grown out of the recurring dream that plagued her as a child, but after a shocking family secret is revealed, it comes back to haunt her – the same swing in the same garden, the kind red-haired giant and the swarthy arms which grab her from behind and try to take her away … In an attempt to forget her troubles, Maddie travels to Devon to spend time with her friends, Kayla and Wes. However, it becomes clear that relaxation will not be on the agenda after a disturbing encounter with a gypsy fortune teller. Not to mention the presence of Wes’s dangerously handsome brother, Alex. And then there’s the fact that Maddie’s dream seems to be coming true … The Soft Whisper of Dreams is the sequel to Christina Courtenay’s novel The Secret Kiss of Darkness.

Christina dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

The Soft Whisper of Dreams is a contemporary novel, mostly set in present-day Devon on England’s south-west coast. It was one of those novels I never meant to write, but when I finished The Secret Kiss of Darkness I just couldn’t let go of Alex, the hero’s brother in that novel. He’d been doing some smuggling, just like his ancestors, but he wasn’t really a bad guy. So what would happen to him after he got caught?  Then there was the heroine’s best friend, Maddie, who’d encouraged her to go to Devon in the first place. Her story came to me when a friend of mine who was adopted decided to trace her birth mother and the outcome wasn’t quite what she’d hoped for. I knew this was what I wanted to happen to Maddie as well, but somehow it all turned a bit more sinister than I’d envisaged. The gypsy fortune tellers from the first book had to have a part in this one as well, since the hero is descended from them. And I like the idea of second sight, although I’d be much too scared to ever ask to have my own fortune told! I don’t want to hear anything bad. Well, neither did my heroine …

You can find out more about this book at Christina’s website and buy it from Amazon.

 

One Comment
  1. 10 March 2015 2:30 am

    This sounds like such a gripping story – I’m really looking forward to reading it!

Comments are closed.