Skip to content

Release day: Inheriting Fear

16 February 2015

Today is the official release of  Inheriting Fear by Sandy Vaile (ebook, Crimson Romance). Here’s the blurb:

Inheriting FearChef Mya Jensen’s plate is already full. She has her job, her motorbike, and her kickboxing and she’s the guardian of her disabled mother. She doesn’t need a man in her life, and she definitely doesn’t need her cocky new neighbor, Detective Luca Patterson, linking her to his latest investigation.

Luca has never crossed a professional line — until he meets Mya. She is sexy, feisty, and so many kinds of wrong, but he can’t stop thinking about her. Maybe because every time he’s onto a lead in his latest jewelry counterfeit case, her name pops up. But is she a victim or a suspect?

Being targeted by an old foe hell-bent on revenge, and an unexpectedly sizzling interlude with Luca, puts Mya’s desires and needs at odds. Will this independent woman try to fight her way out of this one, or finally open her heart?

Sandy dropped by today to tell us a litre about this book:

I love courageous, self-reliant heroines and Mya had attitude from the moment she entered my imagination. She doesn’t need a man—in fact she can knock most of them on their arses—but Luca gets under her skin in a way that warms her from the inside out. Being a motorbike rider myself, I related to Mya’s free spirit, but her bleak childhood took shape based on personally witnessing the devastation of alcoholism on families. Inheriting Fear is about overcoming adversity through inner strength, and trusting someone enough to realise you don’t have to do everything yourself.

You can find out more about this book at Sandy’s website and buy it from Amazon US or Amazon Au.

What is the most adventurous thing you have done (or is there something adventurous on your bucket list)? All ARRA members who leave a comment will go in the draw to win a copy of this book. The giveaway closes on 2 March 2015. (The winner was Donna)

15 Comments
  1. 22 February 2015 8:44 pm

    Can I say having twin boys re the most adventurous thing I’ve ever done? Certainly a baptism by fire having two at once. (Please note: I already have this fabulous book in my personal library!)

    • 22 February 2015 9:07 pm

      Oh boy, Carla, I think having twins takes the cake for brave. It truly is an adventure raising children and I wish you all the best. No doubt you have only scraped the tip of the ice burg on this thrill ride!

  2. Lorraine Johnstone permalink
    17 February 2015 8:34 pm

    I took a hot air balloon ride over Melbourne. I am petrified of heights but this was fantastic – felt like you could reach out & touch the sky! Something I always wanted to do & was a present when I left the firm I worked for after 19 years. (Thank you Susan)

    • 19 February 2015 11:24 pm

      Lorraine, I rode in a hot air balloon over the Barossa Valley in South Australia and it was so serene. I can understand why, even if you’re afraid of heights, you enjoyed this experience. Good on you!

  3. 16 February 2015 5:18 pm

    Im becoming more adventurous and stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to outdoor adventure sports. My latest is abseiling. I would love to try parasailing if i wasn’t so afraid of sharks! Ive only been on the back of a motorbike and not quite brave enough to try riding one as yet. Mya sounds awesome Sandy.

    • Sandy Vaile permalink
      17 February 2015 12:23 pm

      Leesa, I think even going on the back of a motorbike counts as adventurous. I haven’t tried abseiling yet, but would love to. It seems that the older I get the more afraid of heights I get. If only I could be strapped to a confident person, like when sky diving!

  4. 16 February 2015 11:22 am

    Congratulations on your release Sandy. Mya sounds awesome🙂
    I’ve been hang gliding (about 30 years ago) Took one pilot lesson in a tiny Cessna, married & divorced a sportsman – now that was adventurous.
    Cheers,
    Donna

    • Sandy Vaile permalink
      17 February 2015 12:21 pm

      I agree, Donna, life itself is an adventure. Hang gliding is something I’m too chicken to try… maybe one day.

    • 3 March 2015 9:29 pm

      Hi Donnag63. You are the lucky winner of a copy of ‘Inheriting Fear’. Please send me an email via my website: http://www.sandyvaile.com to let me know if you prefer a Mobi (kindle) or iPub file.

  5. helensibbritt permalink
    16 February 2015 10:10 am

    Congrats on the release Sandy this one sounds really good I am not an adventurous person at all LOL I am very happy reading🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • Sandy Vaile permalink
      17 February 2015 12:20 pm

      Thanks for your support Helen. I bet you are more adventurous than you know. Do you have something fun on your bucket list, like an amazing travel destination?

    • 3 March 2015 9:28 pm

      Thanks to everyone who posted a comment. You are an adventurous lot and all strong women, just like the heroines I write!
      Donnag63 is the lucky winner of a copy of ‘Inheriting Fear’. I do hope you enjoy it. Posting a review on your favourite book site would be greatly appreciated.

      • 3 March 2015 9:30 pm

        If you’d like some behind the scenes gossip about me and my characters, then sign up for my news letter, via my website: http://www.sandyvaile.com

        Thank you so much to ARRA for hosting this competition!

  6. 16 February 2015 8:49 am

    I went swimming with dolphins in the open ocean off New Zealand. It was freezing cold and really rough. Scarey but brilliant.

    • Sandy Vaile permalink
      17 February 2015 12:19 pm

      Wow, that sounds fantastic, Maggie! It’s on my bucket list.

Comments are closed.