Skip to content

ARRC2015: concurrent session 7A

30 January 2015

arrc2015_banner_light_200x200Here is the next in our series about the panel sessions at ARRC2015. You can find further details on the convention, including the full program and registration links here.

This week we are talking about…

Concurrent session 7A—Our world, other worlds

Our favourite urban fantasy books are often set in a real cities (I’m looking at you Melbourne, Atlanta and Miami), totally fabricated cities or hybrids where real cities are re-imagined.

These four fabulous ladies will be discussing cities and places they’ve enjoyed or would like to see as locations for books (written by themselves or others) and, without giving away ideas for future books, creatures or ‘people’ they’d like to see as heroes and heroines. And just for fun tell us of their favourite or imagined bar, restaurant or company with an urban fantasy twist.

The panellists

CS7aErica Hayes was first published in 2009. She writes dark, gritty paranormal romance and urban fantasy, as well as romantic science fiction. Her books, including her Shadowfae Chronicles and Seven Signs series, have been ARR Award finalists every year from 2008 to 2013. Her latest urban fantasy series, beginning with Scorched, features a kick-butt super-powered heroine. Erica also has a secret identity, who writes edgy Victorian-era electricpunk/romantic murder mystery. She (and possibly the secret identity, too) lives in Canberra.

Kelley Armstrong is the author of 27 novels: the ‘Otherworld’ urban fantasy series, ‘Darkest Powers’ and ‘Darkness Rising’ teen paranormal trilogies, the ‘Cainsville’ modern gothic series, ‘Age of Legends’ YA fantasy series and ‘Blackwell Pages’ middle-grade fantasy adventure trilogy (co-written with Melissa Marr). She lives in south-western Ontario with her husband, kids and far too many pets.

Keri Arthur has been writing for longer than she cares to remember, but has been published since 2000. She currently has 32 novels out, including the New York Times bestselling Riley Jenson series. She lives in Melbourne, Victoria.

Tracey O’Hara was first published in 2009 with Harper Collins. The first in her Dark Brethren series, Night’s Cold Kiss, was an award-winning urban fantasy. She went on to write two more novels in the same series. That same year she also published an erotic short with Harlequin Spice Briefs. She is currently working on more erotic romance and is part of a new series with Escape Publishing.

Viola Carr was born in a strange and distant land, but wandered into darkest London one foggy October evening and never found her way out. She now devours countless history books and dictates fantastical novels by gaslight, accompanied by classical music and the snoring of her slumbering cat.

Updated 13/2 to add Viola Carr.

Comments are closed.