Skip to content

Release day: Unlucky for Some

1 November 2014

Today is the official release of Unlucky for Some by Carla Caruso (ebook, HarperCollins). Here’s the blurb:

Unlucky for SomeRaffy Fortuna knows all about luck, and she’s not interested in pushing it. But sometimes luck pushes you to the places you least expect.

Sassy Italian-Australian newspaper reporter Raffy has been ultra-superstitious ever since her ex-fiancé saw her in her bridal gown before they got hitched – and left her at the altar.

But as luck would have it, one of her new assignments at Press Publishing is a feature series challenging some of the most common superstitions in the lead-up to Friday the thirteenth.

It’s her worst nightmare – not helped by the grumpy, yet annoyingly handsome cameraman accompanying her to film the daily online videos for the newspaper’s site…

Carla dropped by today to tell us little about this book:

While I can’t cook to save my life, I’m a true Italian in other ways, particularly being quite superstitious! I have a thing about touching wood for luck and I never walk under ladders or put shoes on the table. And Friday the thirteenth gives me the heebie-jeebies. That’s what helped inspire this novella about an ultra-superstitious heroine (with her own reasons) who is handed a media assignment that makes her test her luck and challenge her own beliefs. (Previously, I also worked in the media as a newspaper and magazine journalist before becoming a stay-at-home mum to one-year-old twin boys!)

You can find out more about this book at Carla’s website and by it at HarperCollins.

All ARRA members who leave a comment will go in the draw to win an iTunes voucher.  Giveaway closes 22 November 2014. (The giveaway is now closed. The winner was Barbara.)

6 Comments
  1. 7 November 2014 5:22 am

    Congratulations Carla on your new release. Looking forward to a great read.
    It is amazing how old superstitions become part of your behaviour as I never put shoes on the table as my grandmother said not to. Yes she was superstitious, with no walking under ladders and no putting up umbrellas inside. Just recently a receptionist tried to book a medical appt for me for Friday the 13th and I said no as why push it, when I continue to need all my luck with a pesky medical condition.

  2. allisonbutler permalink
    3 November 2014 9:25 am

    Congratulations on your latest release, Carla! Unlucky For Some sounds like a great read:)

  3. beverleyeikli permalink
    2 November 2014 8:35 pm

    That sounds a fun concept. I can’t recall any brooding or intriguing cameramen accompanying me on any of my story assignments (which seems like a lifetime ago now) but it would be great fun to read a story like that, though!

  4. Jeanie M permalink
    2 November 2014 8:18 pm

    Yes! Someone else who knows about shoes on the table! I never do this but my family and friends think I’m crazy. I wouldn’t say I was overly suspicious, but my nan told me not to put shoes on the table and I listened to that (one of the few things!). Ladders, well, occ health and safety won’t let me do that nowadays🙂
    Congratulations on your new book Carla!

  5. Barbara permalink
    1 November 2014 8:36 pm

    Congratulations on the release Carla…. I can’t say that I am really superstitious but I like the sound of this book…

Comments are closed.