Skip to content

Guest blogger: Anna Campbell

14 September 2014

2013 Awards_Anna Campbell and Lilia KannaOh, those daring dukes!

It’s been a while between drinks. Not in real life—I’m very partial to a glass of wine, helps to regulate my sanity (no comments from the peanut gallery!)—but in Romancelandia, I haven’t had a new release since my short story in the free anthology, A Grosvenor Square Christmas, late last year.

So I’m extra excited that my third Sons of Sin book hit the stands at the end of August both here and in America (the UK edition isn’t out until October). I’m even more excited because What a Duke Dares features a character I’ve loved writing about in every other Sons of Sin book, the cool, calm, collected Camden Rothermere, Duke of Sedgemoor.

Cam has quite a few characteristics I like in a hero. For a start, he’s a duke, the king of the beasts in Regency society. It’s no accident that so many historical romances feature dukes! He’s also Mr Control. It’s always such fun to watch men who think they have their life perfectly organised turned upside down when they fall in love. He’s also utterly determined that love will play no part in his life. Well, we know how that’s going to end, don’t we? But readers still get the fun of watching the immovable object fight against the irresistible force—and lose!

The story is my first friends-into-lovers tale. I love these—my friend Sarah Mayberry (www.sarahmayberry.com) is a master at this particular theme. I love how in friends-into-lovers stories there’s so much at risk. If the romance doesn’t work out, a deep friendship will go west at the same time, so the couple turn out double losers. I also like how in a lot of friends-into-lovers stories, including this one, there’s an abiding respect and affection between the hero and heroine, no matter what happens when they set out on love’s rocky path.

The story also starts out as a road trip (although most of the events take place back in England). I love road trip romances too. The hero and heroine are stuck together on the journey, much as they don’t want to be, and all the time that simmering sexual tension builds and builds. Until … bam! Delicious for a reader!

So (keeping it G-rated), what’s the most daring thing you’ve ever done? Climbed a mountain? Travelled in a foreign country on your own? Asked out that attractive bloke? I’ve got a signed copy of What a Duke Dares (open internationally) to go to someone who comments today. The giveaway closes on 28 September. (UPDATE: the giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to sydneydeb.)

You can find Anna here: website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

What a Duke Dares UKWhat a Duke DaresWhat a Duke Dares

A reputation at risk…

What woman in her right mind would say no to marrying the dashing Duke of Sedgemoor? Miss Penelope Thorne, that’s who. She’s known Camden Rothermere since they were children – and she also knows she’d bring nothing but scandal to his name.

Cam can hardly believe Penelope turned down his proposal. But if she wants to run off to the Continent and set the rumour mill ablaze, he can’t stop her. Then her brother’s dying request sends him to bring home the one woman he thought he’d finally gotten over.

The only way they’ll both get back to London without their reputations in tatters is to pretend they’re married during the journey. That means kissing like they mean it and even sharing a bed – until it becomes hard to tell where the game ends and true desire begins…

You can buy What a Duke Dares from: Amazon | Booktopia | Book Depository

and find a excerpt here.

15 Comments
  1. Jeanie M permalink
    28 September 2014 6:42 pm

    Probably the most daring thing I’ve done is arrive in Japan and travel around by myself with only my lapsed high school Japanese for support. I learned that the Japanese are incredibly friendly, you can actually remember a lot of what you learnt in school and that it was okay to follow a stranger at night back to my hotel after getting lost and stuck in a storm.

  2. 17 September 2014 1:23 am

    Congratulations on the new release. I’m bit of a chicken re some physical activities but my sister referred to me as the “fly by the seat of her pants girl”. For example:
    – hitch hiking (years ago) around Ireland with a girl I had met a few weeks earlier on a tour,
    – presenting a male friend with choccies and asking him out for dinner which definitely moved him out of the friend category,
    – spur of moment 2nd trip to UK and flew out 4 days later with nil accommodation booked. I didn’t stress, left my large luggage in storage area, found a B&B, slept of jet lag then went and picked up my bag.

  3. Kim permalink
    15 September 2014 5:51 am

    Congratulations on the new release. I haven’t done anything too daring. How about I fixed an electrical outlet in my house without calling an electrician and lived to tell about it.🙂

    • 15 September 2014 7:23 am

      Wow, Kim, that is daring! Glad it worked out and you weren’t barbecued! Thanks for the congrats.

  4. Linda permalink
    14 September 2014 10:02 pm

    I love the trope where Mr Control loses it & falls in love in spite of fighting it tooth & nail. The part where he succumbs is always so delicious!
    I went spelunking several years back. It was thrilling! We had to squeeze through small holes (good thing none of us were fat); drop thru said holes into the next cavern below & crawl along tunnels half submerged in water ….among other things.

    • 15 September 2014 2:18 am

      Yeah, me too, Linda. Love that he thinks he’s got all the answers and then he finds out he’s just as much of a mess as everyone else! Ack to spielunking! I don’t really like caves – they creep me out. So you definitely get points for daring!

  5. Barbara permalink
    14 September 2014 6:07 pm

    Hi Anna …I have also just got back from lunch with Helen….I have read this book and like all your others loved it…. My most daring thing I have done is to have parasailed in the harbour at Coffs Harbour … I was in my 50’s…. I had to jump off a pontoon in the middle of the harbour lol … Hubby did so I had to couldn’t let him beat me….

    • 14 September 2014 6:16 pm

      Barb, thanks so much for saying you enjoyed Duke. That really makes me smile! Wow, parasailing is pretty daring. You definitely get points for that. You’ll have to jump out of a plane next!🙂

  6. 14 September 2014 6:03 pm

    I spent 5 weeks traveling around Canada and Alaska on my own last year, it was my 45th birthday present to myself, it was the most amazing trip and I can’t wait to go back again. I’ve just started the Sons of Sin series and can’t wait to devour the other two books.

    • 14 September 2014 6:16 pm

      Thanks so much for picking up Rogue, Deb! That’s wonderful. Wow, Canada and Alaksa on your own. That is daring! So glad you had a wonderful time. I remember the first time I travelled alone, I was petrified. But it actually is a great way to travel because you meet so many more people when you’re on your own.

    • arrawebmaster permalink*
      9 October 2014 3:35 pm

      Congratulations sydneydeb! You have been drawn as the winner of Anna’s giveaway. Please check your email for details

  7. helensibbritt permalink
    14 September 2014 5:28 pm

    Hi Anna

    I am reading this one now and loving it I have jsut got home from our romance reader lunch and we were discussing this one🙂

    Now what daring thing have I done not sure that I have done anything daring when I have travelled it is normally with hubby or friends never asked a bloke out 🙂 and if there is anything else I have done it probably wasn’t G rated LOL my daughter is travelling in The States on her own at the moment does that count with me worried at home

    Congrats on the release

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 14 September 2014 6:14 pm

      Helen, so glad you’re enjoying duke! Hope you get a good long chance to wallow in it soon. You’ve been so busy lately. Saw the Facebook photos of the Lindt Cafe. They always make me hungry. Hope things go well for your daughter! Bet she’s having a ball!

  8. Ruth Atkinson permalink
    14 September 2014 10:24 am

    You can’t go wrong with an Anna Campbell book.

Comments are closed.