Skip to content

Guest blogger: Kaily Hart

9 March 2014

Kaily HartThe bedroom door has got to be left open. Wide open.

A funny thing happened when I started to write romance. I’d read romance across the board in terms of genre and heat level. If it was romance, I’d read it. I had my auto-buy authors and favorites, of course, but I enjoyed exploring the different nuances of all that the romance genre had to offer. And I’d go through binges—sometimes Scottish Highland historical, sometimes vampire paranormals, sometimes sexy, funny contemporaries and on and on. I also read the gamut of heat levels. It did seem over time I gravitated to the more sexy stories, regardless of all the other variables. Not so much from an explicit perspective, but to those stories that included the love scenes to propel a story forward.

When you start writing, you have to decide on a genre for your book. Obviously, right? You have to decide on your tone. You have to find your distinctive VOICE. And for romance, you have to decide how ‘hot’ your stories are going to be. For me, it happened organically. I found I couldn’t adequately tell a fully developed relationship story without incorporating those intimate moments. Yeah. For me, I realised pretty quickly it meant that bedroom door had to remain wide open!

I really feel these scenes are integral to the relationship, that they are critical in furthering the storyline along, that they provide some of the greatest opportunities for a writer to grow their characters. People are vulnerable during these intimate moments, or they can be. What a character says (or doesn’t), how they act, what they reveal, what they have to hide before during and after these scenes is key. And if nothing changes from the beginning to the end of the scene? Then that scene wasn’t really necessary. At least in my opinion.

What heat level do you like to read?

One commenter will be chosen at random to receive their choice of ebook from my backlist (you must be 18 years old to enter, ‘cause you know … they’re kind of hot and steamy books😉.

Kaily Hart, a seemingly straight-laced mother of four, left corporate America and a high-powered, lucrative career to be a stay at home mom. Riiight… That lasted about four weeks, during which time she realized she had a deeply repressed dream—to write. And (gasp) romance at that! Who knew? By day, Kaily plays conservative wife and soccer mom, but at night crafts hot and steamy tales of romance and love with gorgeous heroes who wouldn’t dream of leaving the toilet set up. Ever. She’s smart and sassy, at least in her own mind, and is creating as many happy ever afters as she can, one hot story at a time. Kaily never would have thought she’d be doing this, but now that she is? Well, you couldn’t pay her enough to do anything else.

You can find out more information about all Kaily’s books here.

If anyone would want to contact me (which I would love by the way) or just keep up with what I’m doing, you can find me all over: WebFacebookTwitterPinterest

4 Comments
  1. Yvonne permalink
    17 March 2014 9:15 pm

    Sexy, steamy and intimate moments become necessary components to the reader who Kaily allows to view from the open doorway. As well as love being present I’d better fan the air to keep those hot flushes down. Thanks Kaily for your post and viewpoints.

  2. Deb Klanfar permalink
    11 March 2014 7:29 pm

    Hi Kaily
    I enjoyed your post. I don’t have to have the bedroom door open, but I do prefer it.
    Cheers
    Deb Klanfar

  3. 9 March 2014 5:08 pm

    Love to hear your story Kaily and yes keep the door open

  4. helensibbritt permalink
    9 March 2014 4:23 pm

    I have to agree Kaily you need the bedroom dore open🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

Comments are closed.