Skip to content

Guest blogger: Kallie Lane

19 May 2013

Kallie LaneAnimals are people too …

Well, not really, but they do play an important role in every book I write. In Dark Abandon, there’s the wolf, Doodlebug, who risks death to protect his human. In Deadly Abandon, I have Bruiser, a Rottweiler, and his Golden Retriever sidekick named Bear. Bruiser knows who killed his mistress, but is unable to tell. In Reckless Abandon there are many animals as the story takes place at the rodeo. Bad to the Bone, a killer Brahma Bull, is one of my favorites. Then there are two search and rescue dogs. Hank is a Bloodhound who can sniff out his quarry, dead or alive. McGee, a Shiloh Shepherd, shares Hank’s skill set, as well as skydives out of planes with his handler. In Silent Deceit, we meet a hybrid cat named Tigz. Tigz is a Savannah; a cross between a Maine Coon and a Serval—a medium-sized wild African cat. He’s close to forty pounds of mean and very protective of his human, which poses a problem for everyone, including the good guys.

I include animals in my books because I’m so attached to my own. I have two Rottweiler/Shepherds and four cats. And yes, there are days I feel like the old lady who lived in a shoe!

I have two new releases this month. The first is Reckless Abandon, book 3 in the Shadow Soldier series. Here’s the back cover copy:

Reckless AbandonFilled with regret over his rocky past, Reece Morgan has no desire to go home after ten years away. But when Billie Bradshaw becomes the target of killers, he returns to defend her with a vengeance born of salvation. He charges to the rescue, only to realize she’s the bait to tempt him into the open.

Billie has a choice to make. She can risk violent death, or allow the man she considers her worst nightmare—the man she’s already loved and lost, the man who fell off the grid a long time ago, taking her heart along for the ride—to keep her safe. What could be worse? Maybe the fact he’s unknowingly brought death to her door.

As Billie and Reece follow the twisted trail of a psychotic mind, their reignited passion takes a front row seat in their struggle to stay alive.

My other release this month is Silent Deceit, a novella launching my Black Force Renegades series:

Silent DeceitWhen undercover cop Natasha Roberts sets out on her own to find her missing brother, the trail leads to a biker bar where one false move will get her killed.

Skip McQuade doesn’t like her chances for survival, and forces her to trust him.

Together they continue the search while fighting the passion between them.

Will they find her brother and stop a killer in time?

Find out more on Kallie’s website, or find Kallie’s books here:

Amazon | Apple | Barnes & Noble | BAM | Kobo | The Wild Rose Press

Thank you so much to ARRA for having me here today. I will be giving away a digital copy of both Reckless Abandon and Silent Deceit to one commenter. The giveaway closes on 2 June. UPDATE: The giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to Suzi Love.

17 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    4 June 2013 4:13 pm

    Thanks for the great post Kallie

  2. 21 May 2013 2:44 am

    Hey Kallie, Great post. I love stories that include animals because they give an added dimension to the human characters. I loved your first two books and am really looking forward to Reckless Abandon and Silent Deceit.

    • 21 May 2013 7:41 am

      Hi Brenda! Thanks for the comment and for stopping buy. Gotta say I loved your book, The Doubting Heart, too. I also have Father of the Bride in my TBRs. I’m waiting for a sunny day and no black flies (ugh…not until the end of June) to read it on the dock at the cottage!

      • 21 May 2013 7:42 am

        Of course, some days I can’t spell. Did I really write stopping buy instead of stopping by?

  3. bn100 permalink
    20 May 2013 5:13 am

    The books sound intriguing

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    • 20 May 2013 5:57 am

      Thank you! I love romance laced with danger and mystery, when the heroine and hero really have to fight for their happily ever after!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    20 May 2013 4:50 am

    For those of you who haven’t read Dark Abandon and Deadly Abandon, these books are a must read. Being a new author I was a bit skeptical, but after reading the synopsis, decided to give your books a try and was not disappointed. Amazing characters, with twists and turns and loved how the animals were introduced into your story. I have now purchased your next book Reckless Abandon and Silent Deceit which I am looking forward to reading.

    June

    • 20 May 2013 5:51 am

      Wow, June, thank you so much! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the books and I appreciate your support!

  5. helensibbritt permalink
    19 May 2013 2:50 pm

    Kallie

    I have loved your stories and the animals in them are such great characters I have fell for them as well as the hero need to go and get the new one🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

    • 19 May 2013 8:46 pm

      Helen, hello and thank you! If you have a chance to read the novella, Silent Deceit, I think you’ll really love Tigz. He’s forty pounds of mean, hybrid cat who is mostly wild as he was released into nature by an owner who couldn’t handle him. He’s also very attached to a woman in the story who needs protection. Unfortunately, he can’t differentiate the bad guys from the good, and the claws come out!

  6. 19 May 2013 1:59 pm

    Your books sound wonderful and I love the animals included. Can’t wait to read your stories.

    • 19 May 2013 8:36 pm

      Thanks Suzi! I believe how a person treats animals defines their character. The critters in my books are often devoted to the heroines. It’s so much fun to watch the heroes tripping over themselves to make friends. Thanks for stopping by today!

  7. Shiona permalink
    19 May 2013 1:46 pm

    Hi Kallie,
    I must admit I haven’t read any of your books – something I plan to remedy – because I can’t imagine anything that appeals more than a bad boy hero, suspense, action and animals. I’m a such a sucker for animals (and kids) in books. The more the merrier. And I share my life with a donkey, shetland pony and a bad ass black cat.
    Good luck with your new releases.
    Cheers
    Shiona

    • 19 May 2013 8:27 pm

      Hey Shiona…what a beautiful name! And thank you for your comment. Did I mention there are also donkeys in Reckless Abandon? It’s a working ranch, and donkeys are used to protect horses from predators when they leave them out in the fields overnight. The hero doesn’t take Shirley and Flo seriously until he gets bitten on his backside. Enjoy your furry faces, they sound wonderful!

  8. 19 May 2013 11:52 am

    Hi there… what a lovely post.

    As a lover of dogs (my own especially) I really enjoyed reading about your furry characters.

    Many thanks, have a good one

    Gabrielle Battistel
    (gabbawrites)

    • 19 May 2013 8:18 pm

      Hi Gabrielle! Actually it’s great fun at my house today. The dogs are off at the cottage and the cats are doing what cats do when the dogs aren’t here…racing through the rooms playing with catnip mice, etc. We can’t leave their little toys around when the big guys are here! Thanks for your comment.

Comments are closed.