Skip to content

Release day: Against the Edge

30 April 2013

Today is the official release of Against the Edge by Kat Martin (paperback and ebook, MIRA).  Here’s the blurb:

Against the EdgeA child he’s never met. A danger he’s never known.That he’s a father is news former navy SEAL Ben Slocum was not expecting. But once the initial shock wears off for the confirmed bachelor, he takes in the rest of what social worker Claire Chastain tells him: that his son Sam is in the custody of an abusive criminal, that they’ve disappeared … and that Ben is now the child’s only hope. As Ben and Claire band together to track the two down, their concern for the boy draws them closer, each fighting feelings there’s no time to explore. Ben’s got one chance to take back what’s his, and in one gunshot he could lose it all …

Kat dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

In the course of writing more than fifty books, I can tell you that a character’s name can be extremely important. I spend hours pouring over lists of names: American, English, Italian, French, Japanese, Russian, Chinese, etc. Months before I start a story, I work on choosing the right names for my hero and heroine. It’s my way of getting to know them. Choosing their names is the way I begin to find their identity. I like names that evoke an instant picture. Ben Slocum, for example. Ben is the hero in Against the Edge. Dark and slightly brooding, Ben’s a hard-edged man who’s been hurt before and is determined to protect his heart and never fall in love again. I can’t imagine a man named Ben Slocum being a guy with a weak chin. Hope you enjoy Ben Slocum in Against the Edge, and that you’ll watch for other books in the Against series. You can watch the book trailer here.

You can find out more about this book at Kat’s website and buy the book at Amazon, Indie Bound and Barnes and Noble.

All ARRA members who comment on this post will go in the draw to win an autographed copy of Against the Edge. (Giveaway closes on 21 May 2013.) (The winner was Barbara)

6 Comments
  1. 6 May 2013 5:06 pm

    I heart Kat Martin for creating men like Ben Slocum!😀 Raines of Wind Canyon is a favorite series of mine. Cannot wait for this installment.

  2. 5 May 2013 9:09 pm

    Another good book by Kat on to the list again

  3. helensibbritt permalink
    1 May 2013 9:51 pm

    I have to agree it sounds great I too need to add this one

    Have Fun
    Helen

  4. aimskye permalink
    1 May 2013 12:31 pm

    This one sounds great, just like every Kat Martin I have read!

    Aimee

  5. 30 April 2013 1:53 pm

    I agree Brooke. It sounds like a fantastic read and I agree with Kat that names are crucial. Ben’s a great name for a hero. I look forward to reading this one.

  6. 30 April 2013 10:43 am

    This sounds like a great read, definitely one to add to my TBR pile. Also, my son is Ben, so love the name too!

Comments are closed.