Skip to content

Release day: Heartland

24 April 2013

Today is the official release of Heartland by Cathryn Hein (paperback and ebook, Penguin Australia).  Here’s the blurb:

HeartlandWhen Callie Reynolds arrives at Glenmore, the property she’s recently inherited, the last thing she wants is to be saddled with a warty horse, an injured neighbour and a mad goose. Haunted by her sister’s death and her fractured family, all she wants is freedom.

But Callie hasn’t counted on falling for Matt Hawkins, an ex-soldier determined to fulfil his own dream of land and family. Nor could she predict the way the land, animals and people of Glenmore will capture her heart.

Callie is faced with impossible choices. But she must find the courage to decide where her future lies, even if it costs her everything she holds dear.

Cathryn dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

Heartland is quite a special book as it was inspired by some cherished childhood memories of the region where I grew up. The love I have for the landscape where Callie and Matt tell their story leaches through every word, at least it felt that way when I was writing it. But as with pretty much all my stories, it’s the characters I really adore. Callie is a very modern heroine, damaged but still strong. She copes with her past by never settling, keeping people at arm’s length. So I wanted the perfect man to challenge her, one who could prove the healing power of love, and Matt is just that man: determined, loving, protective and so damn sexy I want him for myself! I hope you enjoy Callie and Matt’s journey to happiness. It’s one full of drama and passion, a few laughs and some tears, with a bonus insane goose. I had a ball writing it.  

You can find out more about this book at Cathryn’s website and buy it at Booktopia.

All ARRA members who comment on this post will go in the draw to win a copy of Heartland.  The giveaway closes on 15 May 2013. (The winner was Aimee)

22 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    1 May 2013 12:30 pm

    Congratulations Cathryn!!!

    Aimee

    • 2 May 2013 11:07 am

      Thanks aimskye. I’m really proud of this one. And it has a gorgeous cover!

  2. Yvonne Bartlett permalink
    29 April 2013 3:32 am

    Country life, a mad goose, an ex army veteran and a heroine with a protective shell – all sounds great to me. Looking forward to a good Aussie read. All the best Cathryn.

    • 29 April 2013 9:13 am

      Thanks Yvonne. There are some fun things in Heartland, as well as some serious romance! Good luck in the draw.

  3. Deb Klanfar permalink
    25 April 2013 2:45 pm

    Congratulations, Cathryn
    Love the goose!

  4. 25 April 2013 10:45 am

    Cathryn, congratulations on another great book being released. Well done.

  5. 25 April 2013 12:00 am

    Congrats on the release of Heartland, Cathryn! As well as your gorgeous hero, I look forward to reading about your insane goose🙂

    • 25 April 2013 9:38 am

      Thanks Christina! That goose was a hoot (or should I say Honk) to write.

  6. helensibbritt permalink
    24 April 2013 7:50 pm

    Hi Cathryn

    Whoo hoo congrats on the release I really want to read this one🙂

    Have Fun
    Helen

  7. Barbara permalink
    24 April 2013 4:35 pm

    Congratulations Cathryn …. Love to see Aussie authors doing well and reading Aussie books

    • 24 April 2013 5:11 pm

      Thanks, Barbara. I agree. I love seeing our Australian stories on the shelves. For so long it felt like we didn’t have any, especially romances. Now talented ladies are popping up everywhere. About time too!

  8. 24 April 2013 12:15 pm

    Congratulations on the release Cathryn! It sounds like a great read and you write so well. I look forward to reading it.

    • 24 April 2013 1:30 pm

      Thanks, Louisa. I hope you enjoy Heartland. I’m still recovering from my crush on the hero, Matt. Nothing unusual there though!

  9. 24 April 2013 10:12 am

    I loved “Promises” and “Heart of the Valley” so much. Congratulations on the release of “Heartland”, Cathryn!

    • 24 April 2013 10:27 am

      Oh, thank you! And congratulations on your gorgeous release too, Jenny.

  10. 24 April 2013 9:47 am

    Happy release day Cathryn! 🙂

    • 24 April 2013 10:26 am

      Thanks, Louise. Bit busy this morning but I’ll be celebrating tonight, that’s for sure.

  11. 24 April 2013 8:25 am

    Yay! Go Cathryn!

Comments are closed.