Skip to content

Feature book: The Perfect Hope

17 April 2013

The Perfect HopeThe Perfect Hope by Nora Roberts

The final instalment in the Inn Boonsboro trilogy, this is Hope Beaumont (innkeeper) and Ryder Montgomery’s story. As Hope and Ryder stop griping at each other and start falling in love, the inn continues to prosper. Avery’s MacT’s is built and completed and the fitness centre starts to take shape. There are babies for Claire and Beckett and a wedding for Avery and Owen. And there’s Lizzy (the inn’s resident ghost) and her love for her Billy and their story.

Over the course of the series, Lizzy has become a more prominent character and I liked that her story was completed. While ghosts in my contemporaries aren’t my favourite thing, I didn’t get bothered by it here. (I wonder if there really is a ghost at the inn? 🙂 )

I found this book an easy read and finished it over two nights—although I will admit I skimmed much of the renovations. I liked Ryder and Hope and enjoyed Ryder’s surly gruffness. There wasn’t really anything in the way of Hope and Ryder getting together, so there’s not much by way of conflict in the book. It’s a gentle easy love story with a satisfying happy ending.

It was only after I finished the book that I thought back and realised that there also (and unfortunately) wasn’t a lot of steam in the book. If you’re in the mood for the romance equivalent of easy listening, this one is for you. I enjoyed it as a break from the usual angst I adore!

reviewed by Kaetrin

A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher.

3 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    1 May 2013 12:29 pm

    Thanks for the review Kaetrin!

    I actually have not read any Nora Roberts and only last year started the In Death series.

    Aimee

  2. 18 April 2013 10:49 am

    It’s interesting, because I liked it quite a bit, and liked that what conflict there was didn’t become this huge big misunderstanding that can only be sustained when the two parties are incapable of adult communication.

    Aside: for what is worth, SBSarah said at some point–in one of the podcasts, I believe?–that there is indeed a ghost at/in the Inn.

  3. 18 April 2013 8:17 am

    Hi Kaetrin
    As this is sitting close to the top of my TBR pile, this is a very timely review. Quite perfect, if I might use the term here. 🙂 If any couple in this series could have had some stronger conflict, it’s these two. An opportunity lost. But maybe Nora is being a little more indulgent in her trilogies/quartets. Pity, she can do emotional conflict well and, yes, I like it too. I must say I’m learning more about old houses and renovating than I need right now. Might come in handy if I am ever in possession of an old house. 🙂

Comments are closed.