Skip to content

Release day: Secrets in Time

1 April 2013

Today is the official release of Secrets in Time by Alison Stuart (ebook, Lyrical Press).  Here’s the blurb:

Secrets in TimeWhen a seventeenth-century cavalier hurls himself over her garden wall, Doctor Jessica Shepherd is more angry than surprised. Although she is no stranger to military re-enactors, there is something different about Nathaniel Preston. If he is to be believed, something…or someone…has sent him forward in time from the midst of a civil war to the quiet English countryside of the twentieth century.

With time working against them, Nathaniel has to convince Jessica why fate brought them together before he ís forced to return to his own era and certain death in battle. Can the strength of love overcome all obstacles, even time itself?

Alison dropped by today to tell us little about this book:

I have always wanted to write a time travel story. My love of history stems from childhood and I devoured books like A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley. In fact I’d go to sleep willing myself to wake up in another time. Fortunately I never did and I have discovered writing about time travel is much more convenient, not to mention pleasant. This particular story began as a writing exercise for a writing group I was involved. It lingered in the cyber sock drawer for a few years and I came upon it by accident. I fell in love with the characters and it just wrote itself. Time travel + my favourite period of history (English Civil War) = a fun story.

You can find out more about this book at Alison’s website and buy it at Lyrical Press and Amazon.

All ARRA members who comment on this post will go in the draw to win a copy of this book.  The giveaway closes on 21 April 2013. (The giveaway has now been drawn – the winner is Louisa.)

26 Comments
  1. 1 June 2013 1:15 pm

    I enjoyed this book.

  2. aimskye permalink
    5 April 2013 9:11 am

    Congrats Alison!

  3. 1 April 2013 8:05 pm

    Congratulations, this books sounds very interesting … loved your last book so looking forward to reading this one

    • 2 April 2013 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Barbara. It is a little lighter than the last book…and shorter!

  4. 1 April 2013 5:36 pm

    Awesome, Alison! Congratulations. Love the blurb AND the cover. Hope it flies off those cyber shelves. No need to include me in the giveaway, I just bought it off Amazon.🙂

  5. 1 April 2013 4:41 pm

    Wonderful Alison!!!! All the best with the delivery of your new baby🙂

    • 2 April 2013 1:05 pm

      It is like a new baby…all the hopes and fears you invest in it as you send it out into the big wide world!

  6. 1 April 2013 4:30 pm

    Oh I am looking forward to reading this book, Alison. All the best with the release!

    • 2 April 2013 1:04 pm

      Thanks, Louisa. I am keeping my fingers crossed and hoping the readers love it🙂

  7. 1 April 2013 2:47 pm

    Thanks, Beverley…as a fellow ECW fan, I’m sure you’ll like this one🙂

  8. 1 April 2013 11:06 am

    Fantastic, Alison – congratulations! I’ve been waiting for this one. I love the sound of it!

  9. 1 April 2013 10:50 am

    Congratulations, Alison! I love the storyline and ideas and am going to buy the book for my ereader next. The cover is gorgeous!

    • 1 April 2013 2:46 pm

      I’m back in my “happy place” Nicola – the English Civil War. It was so much fun bringing my gorgeous hero forward in time and seeing how he coped!

  10. 1 April 2013 9:14 am

    I love time travel books too, Alison. Yours sounds fantastic.

    • 1 April 2013 2:46 pm

      Oh, me too, Victoria that’s why I had so much fun writing it. They’re not easy to write and maintain credibility. Hope I’ve succeeded!

  11. 1 April 2013 9:06 am

    YAY! Congratulations, Alison. Hope sales are fabulous! It’s such a gorgeous cover too.🙂

    • 1 April 2013 2:45 pm

      Me too, Louise🙂 I have a good feeling about this little book – just hope readers agree with me.

  12. Nas Dean permalink
    1 April 2013 8:47 am

    Congratulations on the release, Alison! So happy and excited for you! Yay!

    • 1 April 2013 2:44 pm

      Thanks, Nas…I’m very fond of this little story so I really hope people like it🙂

  13. 1 April 2013 8:40 am

    Congratulations on your new release Alison! As you know, I’m already a big fan, so it’s a priority on my TBR list! Enjoy the day🙂

    • 1 April 2013 2:44 pm

      Oh wow, thank you, CD! It is a quick read…the shortest book I have ever written.

  14. 1 April 2013 8:24 am

    Congratulations on the release of Secrets in Time. Love the sound of this and the cover is gorgeous!

  15. helensibbritt permalink
    1 April 2013 8:20 am

    Huge congrats on the release Alison I have this one downloaded onto my e reader ready to read and am really looking forward to it

    Have Fun
    Helen

Comments are closed.