Skip to content

Feature book: Notorious Nineteen

16 January 2013

Notorious NineteenNotorious Nineteen by Janet Evanovich

As we have come to expect from Stephanie Plum, Notorious Nineteen sees her once again broke and scrambling to bring in some skips so that she can make rent. Of course the FTAs are not cooperating. But really, how interesting would a Stephanie Plum book be if everything went smoothly for her?

Skip #1 is a small-time drug dealer. Skip #2 is an embezzler who has disappeared, along with the $5 million he stole. Skip #3 is a widowed housewife who decided to make ends meet by hooking. Skip #4 is a homeless man who attacked a police car. And Skip #5 is a flasher who works as a bartender on a nudie beach. There shouldn’t be anything too hard about any of those, but Stephanie will only manage to bring in one of them alive.

But as it turns out the biggest problem Stephanie is going to face is when Ranger asks her out on a ‘date’ and inadvertently makes her the target of a madman. Ranger and a special-forces buddy are being targeted by someone who knows them all too well, and everyone around them is also in danger. With things blowing up all around her—as they often do—plus a case of poisoning and a bridesmaid’s dress from hell, Stephanie will need some help from Grandma Mazur, a dwarf named Briggs, and a tiki named Tiki in order to solve the various mysteries and come out alive. Of course the death toll (both humans and vehicles) is not Stephanie’s fault, but as Morelli says, she’s a ‘disaster magnet’. It’s hard to argue with that.

There are some great moments in this book (not least Stephanie’s idea of how to clean a gun). I found plenty to laugh at, as well as enough little relationship snippets to keep me happy.

reviewed by Debbie

A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. All ARRA members who leave a comment will go in the draw to win this book.

6 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    4 February 2013 3:32 pm

    I still haven’t read any of the Stephanie Plum books (or seen the movie). Does everyone highly recommend them?

    Aimee

  2. 18 January 2013 9:14 pm

    Go Team Ranger….lol

  3. Shiona permalink
    17 January 2013 5:15 pm

    Until she walks down the aisle with Morelli, under the evil eye of his grandmother, I’m not giving up reading these books. Frankly I think Ranger should give up now and see if he can win Lula. Cos he ain’t gonna win Stephanie (she says smoothing out her “I’m Team Morrelli” T-shirt)🙂

  4. 17 January 2013 11:41 am

    That’s it. I have to read this book. I keep swearing that I’ve had enough. No more Stephanie, Ranger and Joe, I tell myself firmly. I mean NINETEEN books! Be merciful and tell us who Stephanie ends up with, please, please, Janet. But, what the heck, I’m an addict.

  5. lyn permalink
    17 January 2013 9:51 am

    as I like a bit of a laugh in a book as well as romance this book seems to hit all the buttons

  6. 16 January 2013 6:48 pm

    I have to read this – and soon. I’ve loved every Stephanie Plum book. Can’t wait.

Comments are closed.