Skip to content

Author spotlight: Susanne Bellamy

11 January 2013

Susanne BellamySusanne Bellamy is the debut author of White Ginger, which won third place in RWA’s 2011 Emerald Award. She writes contemporary romances set in exotic locations but lives and works in Toowoomba, Queensland.

Welcome Susanne to our spotlight …

Have you attended on of ARRA events before?

I attended my first ARRA event last August, the book signing at the RWA Gold Coast conference. It was brilliant being able to meet and chat with authors whose books I love, and to be introduced to others new to me.

What are you most looking forward to at ARRC2013?

I’m looking forward to being on the other side of the table at the ARRC2013 and introducing readers to my first published novel, release date 7 January 2013.

Tell us about your latest book…

White Ginger is set on beautiful Kauai where meeting his soul mate puts Amelie in danger as Arne (Keanu) battles to save the reef and his community from an unscrupulous developer. They must face their greatest fears to survive and win their HEA. I wrote Arne and Amelie’s story while my husband was trekking in Nepal. I trekked there with him many years ago and yes, I am working on a romantic suspense story set there. Before that, however, I’ve been offered a contract for The Impossible Dream set in Barcelona, inspired by Il Divo’s music (and the gorgeous Carlos Marin. 🙂 I was only five rows from them at their February concert in Brisbane!) and the setting in Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s Shadow of the Wind trilogy.

What do you have coming up next?

The Impossible Dream brings PR Isabelle Harrison into contact with her favourite singer, the charismatic Alejandro Augustin who is headlining as Don Quixote (hence the title). He’s got a reputation as a playboy and she’s escaped a short but abusive marriage. There’s danger and passion, and a dream ending in Australia. My heroines are Aussies by the way, so for me, at least some of each story has to be set here, although I’ve begun one set almost entirely in Melbourne’s CBD just for a change.

Keep an eye out for Susanne’s book:

If you are an ARRA member or registered for ARRC2013, check out the member’s loop or ARRC Lounge loop for details of our Author Spotlight competition.

6 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    3 February 2013 5:45 pm

    Looking forward to meeting you at ARRC2013!!

    Aimee

  2. 12 January 2013 10:06 am

    Thanks, Barbara, and hi, Kate! Tiana’s course was great, and I’m delighted to hear you’ve been offered a contract for your book. I do remember your pitch; it sounded really interesting. Congratulations! I look forward to meeting you at the convention in Brissie and hearing more of your journey to publication too.

  3. 11 January 2013 10:03 pm

    Hi Susanne,
    (This is my fourth attempt at commenting – my damned iPad always has trouble with blogs for some reason!!)
    I think we may have met a couple of years ago during an online pitching course with Tiana Templeton. I recognise the synopsis of Impossible Dream. Congratulations on getting a contract or two! well done.
    You might not remember my book, The Yearning. I was writing under a different name then. It finally got picked up by Simon & Schuster in Sept 2012 (hooray).
    Anyway it will be great to meet in you beautiful Brizzy.
    Kate x

  4. Barbara permalink
    11 January 2013 3:35 pm

    This sounds another good book, congratulations

  5. 11 January 2013 1:49 pm

    Hi Louise,

    Thank you! I’m enjoying ‘revisiting’ Nepal in this work in progress. It is a lovely country, though very poor. It has hard to reach areas as well as well travelled tourist trails. Together, I hope they will tantalise readers with a taste of a ‘road less travelled’. Hope you enjoy White Ginger!

  6. 11 January 2013 8:57 am

    Best of luck with White Ginger, Susanne. A romantic suspense in Nepal sounds like another good one. 🙂

Comments are closed.