Skip to content

Release day: Man Drought

1 January 2013

Today is the official release of Man Drought by Rachael Johns (trade paperback and digital, Harlequin Australia).  Here’s the blurb:

ManDroughtImogen Bates moved to the small rural town of Gibson’s Find to start a new life for herself after the death of her husband. Tired of being haunted by the painful memories of her old life, Imogen set her last remaining hopes on the little town and, in particular, pouring her heart and savings into restoring The Majestic Hotel to its former glory. But while the female-starved town might be glad to see a young woman move in, not everyone is happy about Imogen’s arrival.

Sheep and crop farmer Gibson Black once dreamed of having the kind of family his grandfather reminisces about, but he’s learnt not to dream anymore. Living in the mostly male town suits Gibson down to the ground…and he won’t have anyone — least of all a hot redhead from the city — change a thing.

Imogen has never been one to back down from a challenge, especially when it concerns her last chance at happiness. She’s determined to rebuild the pub and create a future for the little town. But can she create a future for Gibson and herself, too?

Rachael dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

I’ve lived in the country for the past eight years and I love small-town life. Writing about small rural communities gives me the chance to share the things I love about rural Australia. One of those things is the history and character in the pubs that feature in every Aussie country town. Sadly, many of these pubs seem to be in an almost derelict condition and I often dream when I drive through towns about how I would revive the pub. Sadly I don’t have the funds or wherewithal to do this, so I gave my heroine Imogen Bates the task. Of course, since I write romance, I also threw an extremely sexy local farmer into the deal–and he proved to be almost as much a challenge as the renovation! I hope you enjoy Imogen and Gibson’s story as much as I enjoyed writing it.

You can buy the book at Harlequin and Amazon.

All ARRA members who comment on this post will go in the draw to win a copy of this book.  The giveaway closes on 22 January 2013. (The winner was Trish)

30 Comments
  1. Kirrily Cant permalink
    2 January 2013 10:47 pm

    Congratulations Rachael! Have been counting down the days to Man Drought’s release and can’t wait to read it. Well done!

  2. 2 January 2013 5:24 pm

    Well done on another great book Rach. Love the gorgeous cover and your hero. Well done and can’t wait to read your next one. I spotted Man Drought being advertised from Dymocks on a pop up ad so you are getting closer to being Nora.

    Cheers
    Tracey

  3. 2 January 2013 9:06 am

    Congratulations, Rachael! I saw “Man Drought” in the Big W catalogue. My famous friend!🙂

  4. Wendy permalink
    2 January 2013 7:55 am

    Sounds like a great story, Rachael. I can’t wait to read it!

  5. 1 January 2013 7:48 pm

    I love reading about small towns – and love the idea of there being so few women! So many possibilities …

  6. 1 January 2013 6:48 pm

    Super congratulations, Rach! Not so long ago we were celebrating your first sale. Look at you now! You go girl!

    • 1 January 2013 11:43 pm

      I know Trish🙂 How time flies when you’re having fun. Thanks. x

  7. 1 January 2013 4:51 pm

    I love reading about small towns and rural life. This sounds like a fabulous book. Congratulations Rachel.

  8. 1 January 2013 3:49 pm

    I live rural and i love reading about it! Good luck with it, sweet. XOXO

  9. lyn permalink
    1 January 2013 3:39 pm

    always good to read a book by Racheal good background about aussie life

  10. 1 January 2013 3:09 pm

    Another Aussie book for the TBR pile lol congratulations Rachael

  11. 1 January 2013 1:00 pm

    Congratulations on the release of Man Drought. Great title. I love Aussie stories, this might have to go on my to read pile. Best of luck🙂

  12. 1 January 2013 12:55 pm

    I love the sound of this book Rachel. I can’t wait to read it!

  13. 1 January 2013 11:34 am

    Happy release day Rachel🙂 I’ve heard wonderful things about this book already – I’m looking forward to reading it.

  14. 1 January 2013 11:06 am

    Congratulations, Rach, on the release of another great Aussie read!

  15. aimskye permalink
    1 January 2013 10:25 am

    Congratulations on your release day!!! It sounds great!!

    Aimee

Comments are closed.