Skip to content

Feature book: Lover Reborn

11 July 2012

Lover Reborn by JR Ward

I found Lover Unleashed, the book preceeding Lover Reborn, disappointing to the point that I was not going to read Lover Reborn. I’m so glad Heather asked me to do a review because I would have been extremely annoyed at myself if I had not continued the Black Dagger Brotherhood series! Tohrment is one of the Black Dagger Brothers (BDB); he’s handsome, strong and, to coin a phrase from JR Ward, a male of worth. Tohr was introduced in Dark Lover, the first in the series, and you knew straight away what a great man he was. He was the only one of the Brotherhood to have it all until his shellan (wife) Wellsie and their unborn child was murdered by a lesser. Tohr disappears for quite a while in the series, when he returns he is gaunt and weak, still desperately missing Wellsie and struggling to live, a shadow of his previous self.

No’One is quiet and subservient but when you get to know her she is strong and upfront. I did not think I would like her because, well she isn’t Wellsie, but I grew to love her strength and drive. Tohr and No’One had met over 200 years ago when Tohr and Darius rescued her from a rapist, only for No’One to commit suicide after the birth of her child (Xhex). She ended up being in the service of the Scribe Virgin instead of the Fade (heaven).

Lover Reborn was different from the other books in the series because the story spanned an entire year. Lassiter, an angel who found and returned Tohr to the Brotherhood earlier in the series, explains to Tohr he has to move on because Wellsie and their child are not in the Fade but the In-Between and their souls will die if Tohr doesn’t let go; thus beginning Tohr’s attempt to move on, with No’One.

Added to Tohr and No’One’s book is the background story’s of John Matthew and Xhex, the Band of Bastards, Qhuinn and Layla, and finally knowing what Lassiter was around for.

John Matthew does not want Xhex fighting with the Brotherhood. I was totally on Xhex’s side personally! Then there is the Band of Bastards a group of warriors who have come to the New World to take over from the BDB. I was not interested in their story in Lover Unleashed but in this book Xcor and Throe have sucked me in completely. Plus that one personally unacceptable scene between Qhuinn and Layla; if you have read Lover Reborn then you know exactly what I mean.

According to JR Ward on Facebook the next book in the series is … Qhuinn and Blay (FINALLY!!!!). I was almost done with the BDB series but have been pulled back in completely with the Band of Bastards and Lassiter.

reviewed by Aimee

A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. All ARRA members who leave a comment will go in the draw to win the book. The giveaway will close on 8 August. (The giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to Barbara.)

3 Comments
  1. Na S. permalink
    17 July 2012 4:50 pm

    I’m making my way through the BDB series and after reading Lover Awakened the hero’s story is heartbreaking! Its a book I definitely want to read.

  2. aimskye permalink
    16 July 2012 11:30 am

    Barbara, Given the size of your TBR pile I agree!!

    Aimee

  3. Barbara permalink
    11 July 2012 3:26 pm

    Good review Aimee…. but I hate to admit that I have never read a JR Ward book and think there are too many for me to catch up on thanks

Comments are closed.