Skip to content

Release day: Starlight

26 June 2012

Today is the official release of Starlight by Carrie Lofty (e-book, print, Pocket). Here’s the blurb:

Esteemed astronomer Alex Christie, the eldest and most steadfast of the Christie siblings, has never possessed his late father’s ruthless business drive. But to protect his frail infant son from his cruel father-in-law’s bid for custody, the young widower must undertake Sir William Christie’s posthumous million-dollar challenge: to make a Glasgow cotton mill profitable. At sea in an industrial world of sabotage and union agitation, Alex meets Polly Gowan, daughter of a famed union leader, who hopes to seize a mysterious saboteur without involving the police.

Because a sympathetic mill master would aid her cause, Polly becomes Alex’s guide to urban Scotland. From soccer games to pub brawls, Alex sees another side of life, and feels free for the first time to reveal the man–vital and strong–behind his intellectual exterior. Polly is utterly seduced. Their ambitions, however, remains at odds: Alex vows to earn the mill bonus to save his child, while Polly fights for the needs of her people. Is there strength enough in their sparkling passion to bind them together in their quests–and in a lasting love that conquers all?

Carrie dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

This second Victorian romance in the Christies series, Starlight, features studious older brother Alex. He’s been the glue that holds the family together through crisis, and the man who saved one particularly troubled and abused young woman from her father. But I am a firm believer that even the most pious, educated, helpful, upright men have a darker side–perhaps one they’ve repressed out of necessity when taking on other people’s problems. When Alex meets union leader Polly, that veneer of distance and selflessness peels away. He is a darker man with Polly, more passionate, more impulsive, and even more violent. But he becomes his truer self. I was also so happy to visit Scotland for a historical setting, although with a twist. Journey with me to Glasgow, where there are no Highlanders, but where strong, proud Scottish people stand up for what they deserve.

You can find out more about Starlight on Carrie’s website and find it for sale from Amazon.

All ARRA members who comment on this article will go in the draw to winner a copy of Starlight (2 to give away).  This giveaway closes on 17 July 2012. (The winner of the giveaway was Barbara and Aimee)

21 Comments
  1. Tina B permalink
    18 July 2012 5:07 am

    Congrats on your newest release, Carrie! I love the blurb. I have Scotland on my bucket list to see someday.😉
    Thank you for sharing and for the wonderful giveaway.

  2. Na S. permalink
    6 July 2012 4:51 pm

    I love the Scottish setting. That’s where I would like to travel too. Even without the highlanders I do get the sense the Scottish people are strong and love their land. Congratulations on your release!

    • 7 July 2012 12:15 am

      Thank you so much, Na! I’ve been married to an Englishman for 15 years, but we’ve never traveled north of the Dales. One day I’ll make him take me to Scotland!

  3. 4 July 2012 12:54 pm

    I just read A Little More Scandal – such a great novella! I think it takes a special talent to write a complete story in such a short word count. Plus, it certainly did the job of making me want to read the Flawless and Starlight and the next book too.

    • 4 July 2012 2:22 pm

      Wow, Kaetrin. Thanks so much! I really appreciating such great feedback. I hope you enjoy the rest of the Christies…in a much longer form. Have a wonderful day!

  4. 1 July 2012 4:34 pm

    Hi Carrie,
    I loved Flawless SO MUCH. Thanks for coming to visit the blog and letting us know about Alex’s story (oh Alex – why are beta heroes so very unappreciated?)
    Kate

    • 3 July 2012 9:46 am

      Thanks so much, Kate!! I’m glad you enjoyed Flawless. And, well, Alex doesn’t stay beta for *too* long. He likes Polly too much😉

  5. aimskye permalink
    29 June 2012 9:15 am

    Congrats Carrie on your release day! As a self-proclaimed cover whore – looking forward to seeing it in store!

    Aimee

    • 29 June 2012 12:01 pm

      Cover whore? LOL! Haven’t heard that before. I hope STARLIGHT gave you a thrill. Have a good day!

  6. 28 June 2012 9:49 pm

    Woooo, we’re so excited at Rendezvous The Romance Bookstore in Melbourne – we received our copies of Starlight and the cover looks even better in person! I’m ready for my one-night read! Mirna

    • 28 June 2012 10:32 pm

      Oh, Mirna!! So incredible! I was blown away by how lovely they are in person. I kept one for myself, my mom, and my critique partner, but the rest are going out to readers for these giveaways. I want as many people as possible to see the shiny silver. (I love the shiny silver). Thanks for coming by. Always, always good to hear from you fine ladies at Rendezvous!

  7. Rosie permalink
    27 June 2012 6:01 pm

    This book has been on my wish list for more than half a year now. Can’t wait to read it.

    • 28 June 2012 12:03 am

      That makes me incredibly smiley to hear. Thank you, Rosie! Best comment of my morning. Enjoy!

  8. 27 June 2012 12:09 pm

    Thank you for coming by today, Louisa!

  9. 27 June 2012 12:03 am

    Hmmm, it sounds intriguing and looks like an interesting read. Congratulations Carrie, I hope it does well.

  10. Barbara permalink
    26 June 2012 8:00 pm

    Congratulation on the release Carrie…. I will have to buy this as I am just reading the first in the series and enjoying it so have to find out about the others

    • 27 June 2012 12:09 pm

      Ooh! So glad you’re enjoying FLAWLESS. They stand alone, but I love the flow as we follow each sibling. Thanks for the congratulations, Barbara.

  11. louiseforster permalink
    26 June 2012 5:39 pm

    Gorgeous cover art/design. Love the premise. The sort of conflict that will draw the reader in. Congratulations on on the release and here to sales beyond expectations!

    • 27 June 2012 12:08 pm

      Very few people wish me good sales, but it’s very, very appreciated! I hope you have a wonderful day, Louise.

  12. 26 June 2012 11:04 am

    Congratulations on the release, Carrie. It sounds as if there are a lot of threads to this story (no pun intended) and I love this kind of conflict where there’s more at stake than the story initially suggests.

    • 27 June 2012 12:07 pm

      Ha! Threads! I didn’t get it at first. I’m notoriously bad at puns. They’re like another language to me! Thanks for being here, Beverley.

Comments are closed.