Skip to content

Guest blogger: Nicole Hurley-Moore

10 June 2012

Since I was a child I’ve had a love of fairytales, myths and legends. It’s something I’ve never been able to shake. My childhood was filled with reading Grimm fairytales, King Arthur and his knights, Norse sagas, ancient Greek myths and Scheherazade’s 1001 nights. I always loved that I could be transported away to exotic lands filled with adventure and magic. I can’t pinpoint it exactly but somewhere between reading The Seven Swans, The Goose Girl and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, I got stuck in the Middle Ages. Knowing this, it’s pretty obvious why most of my stories are Medieval or paranormal romances.

The Medieval period in Europe was not all knights in shining armour and romantic castles, in fact life was once described as ‘brutish and short’. It is easy to see the negatives, (the Black Death for one!) but the Middle Ages also saw a flourishing of art, literature and architecture. For me, I find all aspects of it fascinating. Years ago, I was lucky enough to live in England for a year and I dragged my poor husband to every castle, keep, Roman ruin and stone circle I could find.

I always wanted to write but it has only been in the last two years I’ve been able to knuckle down and concentrate on it. And so now I write fairytales. Although not in the traditional sense—my stories are not retellings of Cinderella or Beauty and the Beast but there is a slight fairytale feel. The Trinket Seller’s Daughter and Capturing Bliss are both straight Medieval inspired tales. My third story, Until the Stars Burn Cold has just been contracted by Pink Petal Books. This one is a little different; it’s a paranormal that is set in ancient Persia and a rural Australian town and what happens when antique dealer, Mia Templeton discovers a cursed ring.

I feel very lucky and privileged to be able to share my stories and my characters with you all.

Find out more about Nicole at her website. You can buy her latest book, Capturing Bliss, here.

Capturing Bliss

In 12th-century England, love isn’t part of the marriage equation. But Lady Blissot de Woodville adores her younger sister too much to see her suffer such a fate. Instead, Bliss recklessly switches places with her sister—and marries a total stranger under false pretenses! Fortunately, she soon discovers she shares a rare passion and genuine love with her new husband, the ardent Lord William Reynard. Yet the happier Bliss becomes, the more her secret weighs heavily on her heart…because one desperate lie could destroy everything she’s come to cherish.

The Trinket Seller’s Daughter

Lost in the forest, Emelin runs for her life after her travelling party is massacred by outlaws. Sir Allard de Gerril is in pursuit of the ruthless Archer and his band when he finds Emelin. Bound by vengeance the pair seek out Archer, but as they journey through the dark woods revenge gives way to passion. With each passing day, Emelin dares to dream that there is a place for a lowly trinket seller’s daughter by the knight’s side. Yet as Archer begins to hunt the couple, Emelin fears that she and Allard will not have a future together as they may never escape the tangled wood alive.

6 Comments
  1. aimskye permalink
    17 June 2012 5:28 pm

    Hi Nicola,
    Thanks for blogging. I have always wanted to go to the UK and visit the old castles. I will get there eventually!

    Aimee

    • 17 June 2012 6:56 pm

      Hi Aimee,
      I’m sure you’ll get there and a bit of a wait will make it so much sweeter!

      Nicole 🙂

  2. Barbara permalink
    10 June 2012 10:12 pm

    Hi Nicole

    I love the sound of all your books….. I was born in the UK in Coventry and there are a lot of old buildings and castles around that area….. so it used to be the norm and taken for granted. It is not until you come to somewhere like Australia that you realise what history is places like the UK have

    Barbara

    • 11 June 2012 10:43 am

      Hi Barbara, my husband was born in Coventry. And yes you’re right, we do tend to take our place of birth a little for granted. I admit I’ve done a whole lot more travelling outside Australia than within. *hangs head in shame* 😀

  3. louiseforster permalink
    10 June 2012 10:48 am

    Hi Nicole, Ooh…I like the sound of Capturing Bliss and The Trinket Seller’s Daughter.
    I’ll have a look for them. Best of luck with sales

Comments are closed.