Skip to content

Life, the universe and everything!

29 January 2008

Sometimes you just need to stop, sit back and smell the roses. Or, in this instance, get away from the computer, find a comfy chair to sit in or a couch to lie on and read a book. Christmas and New Year were busy with family and friends and since then emails have been flying back and forth, thick and fast with ARRC information and planning. Up until the time, that is, I realised I’d been reading the same book for the previous nine days. Nine days! I’m normally a book-a-day, or at least a book–every-two-days type of girl. Houston, we have a problem!

Still reading the same book after nearly nine days would normally reflect badly on the book – unable to get into it, slow going, tedious, what a chore. But that certainly wasn’t the case for Big Girls Don’t Cry by the lovely Cathie Linz, it’s a great read! No, the problem wasn’t with the book. The problem was with the reader, me; I’d forgotten to stop and smell the roses; I hadn’t made time for what I love most – reading a good romance.

I may not have been reading, but I was certainly buying! Bookstores did well out of me during this time of reading drought, however, as I’d somehow managed to spend my quarterly book-buying budget within the space of two weeks. You’ll be pleased to hear that with realising my neglect of actually reading the romance books we are promoting, I’ve since caught up on at least a few books from my TBR pile – phew! Even though my TBR pile had managed to grow substantially larger during that time – damn!

How about you? What books have you read since the beginning of 2008? I do mean read and not simply those that have been added to your ever growing TBR piles either. 😉

6 Comments
  1. Anonymous permalink
    3 February 2008 8:22 pm

    Read a few books so far, a favorite author, Lawman by Diana Palmer. Am really enjoying paranormal romances at the moment, have read the Deidre Knight series, really enjoyed those, as well as J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Series, still collecting those as well. Just finished 3rd book in Kresley Cole’s Immortal After Dark Series.

  2. JennaKay Francis, Author permalink
    1 February 2008 2:33 am

    I read mostly books that haven’t yet been published! I’m an editor of a small press in Aus. LOL But lots of non fiction – National Geographic, Archaeology, etc

  3. Lexxie Couper permalink
    31 January 2008 11:14 am

    Cat Marsters’ Almost Human and Kate Johnson’s I, Spy?… whenever I get the chance (which isn’t as often as I’d like)

  4. Aussiesue17 permalink
    31 January 2008 10:12 am

    Only read 2 in the past week and I am a book a day person. Who knew Maggie’s idea would be so huge..

  5. Maggie Nash permalink
    30 January 2008 10:41 am

    Who has time to read? LOLI am trying to write at the moment🙂Plus work on this🙂

  6. Marg permalink
    30 January 2008 7:42 am

    I’ve bought 12 and read 14! At least my TBR list is going in the right direction!

Comments are closed.