Skip to content

Guest blogger: HC Brown

20 April 2014

Heather BrownDefinition of romance: A feeling of excitement and mystery associated with love.

I have always been a romantic and can find romantic tales in the strangest of places. I live close to the beach but I’ve lived in England and the Australian bush. I often find my muse pulls stories from places I’ve visited, dreams or from a single lyric in a song. How couldn’t a trip to Scotland or Tintagle in Cornwall spark a story—let alone Paris in the spring?

I tend to drop into my historical zone with yummy Highlanders more of late but Avatar zone is hovering waiting to pounce at any moment.

I honestly believe writing in a variety of genres is beneficial and keeps my writing fresh. I write a wide variety of genres under HC Brown from spicy dragon or cat shape shifter romances to contemporary action adventure and science fiction. I prefer to write a series because as a reader I always want to know ‘What happened next?’ and as an author the characters that stay close to my heart usually beg me to write more.

But my HC Brown author persona is a small part of who I am.

I am International All Breeds Cat Judge and Tutor Judge.

I’m a cat lover and bred Oriental Shorthairs and won Cat of the Year seven times. I created the breed Australian Bombay, and my cats were featured on Burke’s Backyard and a few other programs.

Last year I launched a new pen name to embark on my first love—category historical romance. I read four books a month and most of the time they are historical romance. Regency rakes, knights and Highlanders top my list of reading. So I made a decision to step away from my HC Brown persona for a while to write a medieval romance: Her Norman Conquest will be released by Totally Bound in June. Then I had the urge to write a young adult paranormal romance story and How I Dumped My Demon will be published by Evernight Teen in May. Both these stories are under the pen name Elizabeth M Darcy.

As I mentioned, history is a passion and this year I have completed and submitted, Lost in the Highland Mist, a time travel romance set in Scotland 1425, and a Gregorian-era Highlander romance is near completion.

As an author of many published books, I am always willing to give advice on craft. I am involved in the RWA critique partner scheme and would recommend it highly for anyone needing a little guidance. I always set aside time to assist new authors because very few of us walk into this business with the skills necessary to obtain a contract.

You can find me here: Elizabeth M Darcy | HC Brown

For the chance to win an ecopy of Dragonfae and the Soul Catcher, leave a comment below. The giveaway will close on 4 May 2014. (The giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to Jenny.)

Her Norman ConquestHer Norman Conquest

Left alone after the death of all the male members of her household at the Battle of Hastings, Lady Ann finds herself at the mercy of William the Conqueror. The King intends to marry his knights to Saxon gentry.

Ann becomes a useful if not uncooperative allay by using her ability to speak French to liaise with the terrified Saxon women and their potential husbands. She falls in love with a devastatingly handsome Norman blacksmith only to discover King William has plans for her to marry one of his knights.

14 Comments
  1. 20 April 2014 1:55 pm

    How versatile you are! I was interested to read of your interest in cats and breeding. I wonder how many you have now? I would love to have another cat but now my dogs would not make it welcome. My previous cat got here first and soon established boundaries. She has passed on. I am a great dog lover. Animals seem good at heart and rarely do deliberate harm. Like you I am a voracious reader, though only a recent fan of romance. Do you include cats in your books?

  2. 20 April 2014 2:44 pm

    I’ve spoken to a few people who brought in the newer cat breeds, and know all the work that happens behind the scene that people are unaware of. All the information and hard work that is needed.
    I love cats, shorthaired and longhaired. I’ve had both all through my life. One of my works in progress features a planet of them, and they talk.
    My favorite Breeds would have to be the Norwegian Forest Cat and Ragdolls. I’m a well trained Feline servant.
    I too write in a variety of genres. Fantasy, Paranormal, Science Fiction, but all have a thread of Romance in them.
    When you think of it, most novels do have romance of one kind or another in them. Congratulations on your upcoming release and I hope all your books do well.

    • 20 April 2014 4:16 pm

      I don’t have cats anymore after loosing the last one we moved to a no pet area. Cat’s feature in quite a few of my books :-)

    • 20 April 2014 4:18 pm

      #Jenny …well I love all cats. I miss having one around but I do get the chance to hold a great deal at the shows. Thanks for your comment :-)

  3. 20 April 2014 6:47 pm

    Hello Heather. You are very brave to write two different genres and so very talented. We share a love of cats, as you already know. Now that I’m done having human babies I tend to adopt kittens and presently have 5 cats. Thanks for sharing. :-D

    • 21 April 2014 12:39 am

      Well Vona I write in about six different genres and love all of them. I’ve been very lucky that my readers enjoy versatility :-)

  4. 20 April 2014 8:26 pm

    I’m really impressed on how versatile you are with your writing. It just seems to flow out of you – and you write so many different sub-genres, amazing!!!!!!!

    • 21 April 2014 12:39 am

      Thanks Joanne. I have no idea how I do it either….a gift I guess :-)

  5. 20 April 2014 9:40 pm

    Hi, Heather,

    Like you, I believe in writing in a variety of genres. I also enjoy writing historical romance. I find history and romance go well together. Happy holidays!

  6. Amy Rose Bennett permalink
    21 April 2014 2:04 pm

    Hi Heather! I absolutely love Scottish set historicals as well. Wishing you all the best with your submission ‘Lost in the Highland Mist’ and your upcoming new releases! ‘Her Norman Conquest’ sounds intriguing :)

    • 21 April 2014 3:53 pm

      Amy, Scottish Highlander stories are my passion. Writing them for me is living in the era. I am loving writing these stories and they flow so well, so I hope there are many more to come. It will a dream come true for me to have this new genre published.

  7. 21 April 2014 2:35 pm

    Wonderful that you have a marvelous ability to immerse yourself in 6 different genres. It means more great reading for your readers to enjoy. Congratulations on your new releases and all the best for your future endeavours. I appreciate the effort and industry it takes to be diverse in your work and I am looking forward to reading more.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,720 other followers