Skip to content

Guest blogger: Anna Campbell

21 October 2012

A series of surprising events

I think it’s a truism of romance publishing that readers love series.

As a romance reader, I love them too—most of the time. Sometimes I want to pick up a book and finish it and put it down, and that’s the end of my commitment to those characters. Yeah, call me a romance novel flirt—sometimes I’m not into the long haul. Quick and fast and delicious does the deed! A lot of my old favourites are stand-alones. Most of the Laura Kinsales. Most of the Georgette Heyers. Most of the Anne Stuarts.

But having said that, stand-alone novels are becoming an endangered species in romancelandia. My six books with Avon are stand-alones. The characters from Claiming the Courtesan turn up briefly in Tempt the Devil and the house in Tempt the Devil is where Diana and Tarquin rendezvous in My Reckless Surrender. But those tenuous links do not a series make.

As many of you know, this year I’ve changed publishers and moved to Grand Central in America (I’m still with Avon HarperCollins here). So lots of new and exciting things are happening for me, including the launch of my first series.

When I submitted the proposal for Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bed, my new book out on 1 October in Australia and New Zealand, it was another stand-alone (much like the reclusive hero, Jonas Merrick). But the publisher felt that there were legs in the idea to create a series.

Eeek! A series! I don’t write series!

Turns out I do!

Jonas Merrick is a bastard (in all meanings of the word when the story starts, although he learns the error of his ways). So I gave him two school friends who had also suffered because of the scandal surrounding their birth.

The surprise is I’m really enjoying the series aspect. I love dropping hints about future stories and playing off my three heroes against each other—they’re all very different men despite their friendship. I’m really enjoying toying with themes that are subsidiary in one book and major in the next one. I’ve loved returning to this particular world when I finished Rogue and moved on to the sequel.

Who would have thought? Clearly writers love series as well as readers!

I’ve just handed in book two of the Sons of Sin series, A Rake’s Midnight Kiss. That should be out in the second half of next year, with a linked novella to come first. I’m not quite at Stephanie Laurens’s level with her Cynsters, but in my small way, I’ve definitely got serious about series!

So do you have a favourite historical series? Why do you think you love that particular set of characters?

Queenslander Anna Campbell has written six historical romances for Avon HarperCollins and her work is published internationally, including in the United States, Germany, Russia, Turkey and Japan. Anna has won numerous awards for her sweeping, emotional stories set in the first quarter of the 19th century. The Australian Romance Readers Association voted Anna their favourite Australian romance author of 2009, 2010 and 2011. In 2012, Anna launches an exciting new publishing venture with her first series ‘Sons of Sin’, beginning with Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bed in October 2012.

Will a week of seduction …

Desperate to save her sister’s life, Sidonie Forsythe has agreed to submit herself to a terrible fate: Beyond the foreboding walls of Castle Craven, a notorious, hideously scarred scoundrel will take her virtue over the course of seven sinful nights. Yet instead of a monster, she encounters a man like no other. And during this week, she comes to care for Jonas Merrick in ways that defy all logic-even as a dark secret she carries threatens them both.

… Spark a lifetime of passionate surrender?

Ruthless loner Jonas knows exactly who he is. Should he forget, even for a moment, the curse he bears, a mere glance in the mirror serves as an agonizing reminder. So when the lovely Sidonie turns up on his doorstep, her seduction is an even more delicious prospect than he originally planned. But the hardened outcast is soon moved by her innocent beauty, sharp wit, and surprising courage. Now as dangerous enemies gather at the gate to destroy them, can their new, fragile love survive?

17 Comments
  1. rsibbrit@bigpond.net.au permalink
    21 October 2012 11:58 am

    Anna

    I loved this book so much I couldn’t put it down it is truly amazing Jonas and Sidione are the best and I loved the tidbits about the friends I am really looking forward to the next one I will have to be patient LOL.

    I have always loved books in a series I get close to the characters and always want to know more about them I would have to say that one of the very best has been Julia Quinn’s The Bridgertons I would be sitting on tenderhooks waiting for the next installment and I loved having tea with Violet and her ways with her wonderful family and I too loved The Cynsters.

    Huge congrats on Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bed it is not putdownable I highly recomend this one

    Have Fun
    Helen

  2. 21 October 2012 12:05 pm

    Yay, Anna! It’s great to read your smiley voice. Glad to hear that you’re still writing like mad ;)

  3. 21 October 2012 1:54 pm

    Hey, Helen, thanks so much for saying such nice things about Rogue. So glad you enjoyed it. I’ve had a great time playing all the men off against each other – kind of compare and contrast as they used to say in English essays! I’m a bit behind with the Bridgertons! I clearly need to get my skates on!

  4. 21 October 2012 1:55 pm

    Waving madly at Christine! Thank you for swinging by! Been writing like a machine all year. Hope you’re well too!!!

  5. 21 October 2012 6:16 pm

    Hi Anna! Can’t wait to start reading your new series. It’s been too long since my last Anna Campbell fix!! I do love reading series, as I’m so nosy I love to find out what’s been happening in the lives of the hero and heroine of the previous book :-)

    • 22 October 2012 5:23 am

      Christina, thanks so much for saying you’re looking forward to reading Rogue. It’s been a while between releases for me – changing publishers slowed things down a little. Hopefully we’re on a roll now. I agree with you about checking back with previous couples. Always fun.

  6. Barbara permalink
    21 October 2012 6:49 pm

    Hi Anna

    Another great book …. couldn’t put it down, waiting for the next one lol

    Barbara

    • 22 October 2012 5:23 am

      Thanks so much, Barbara! Just handed in book 2, Richard’s story! Should be out next year.

  7. 21 October 2012 9:59 pm

    Loved Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bed, Anna. I was spellbound and can’t wait for the next two books.

    I do love series and being able to meet characters again who I’ve grown to love. I think the only historical series I’ve read is Anne Gracie’s ‘Devil Riders’ stories and that was wonderful.

    See you at GenreCon in a couple of weeks!!

    • 22 October 2012 5:25 am

      Hey, thanks so much, Helene! Burning Lies kept me awake all night so it was the least I could do in return! LOL! So looking forward to GenreCon!

  8. bn100 permalink
    22 October 2012 10:46 am

    Nice post. I like the Hathaway series because of Lisa Kleypas’ writing.

    • 23 October 2012 7:56 am

      BN, Lisa K is fabulous, isn’t she? You couldn’t pick a better series!

  9. Anonymous permalink
    22 October 2012 11:41 am

    Hi Anna, I loved Seven Nights in a Rogue’s Bad. I seriously could not put it down. Highly recommended to everyone! Looking forward to the next in the series.
    My favourite series would have to be the ‘Mallory’s’ by Johanna Lindsey. I know they are old but they are what first got me hooked on historical’s when i was younger and I haven’t looked back.
    Thanks again for a wonderful book!

    • Anonymous permalink
      22 October 2012 11:43 am

      Hmm. Not sure why i came up as anonymous. Happy to have my name on the post… LOL!

      Thanks again!

      Brooke

    • 23 October 2012 7:57 am

      Hi Brooke! Thank you so much for saying how much you loved Seven NIghts! That’s wonderful to hear! Just sent the next one in to my editor last week so it’s definitely on its way. Oh, the Mallorys! I remember one stage of my life where my weekends were dedicated to curling up with multiple Johanna Lindseys. A luscious way to spend a few quiet days!

  10. 24 October 2012 10:02 pm

    I’m really looking forward to reading this one Anna, I know I’ll enjoy it. It’s in my rewards for good work pile as opposed to my TBR pile. All the best, Louisa

  11. aimskye permalink
    2 November 2012 9:33 am

    Loved Seven Nights, looking forward to discussing it at HEART tonight!

    Congrats Anna!

    Aimee

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,720 other followers