Skip to content

Author spotlight: Kristan Higgins

28 September 2012

Kristan Higgins is the author of nine contemporary romances. She is a New York Times bestselling author and two-time winner of the Romance Writers of America RITA Award and was named ‘the master of small town romance’ by Romantic Times magazine. Kristan lives on the East Coast of the United States with her heroic firefighter husband and two lovely teenage children, as well as a rescued mutt and arrogant cat.

Welcome Kristan to our spotlight …

What are you most looking forward to at ARRC2013?

I can’t wait to meet the readers! I’ve never met an Aussie I didn’t want for a best friend. The reaction to my books has been phenomenal from Down Under, and it will be great meet some of my readers in person.

What are you most looking forward to doing in Australia?

Would it sound shallow if I said ‘eating’? I love to eat in new places, and I’m already amassing restaurant recommendations (feel free to shoot me some of yours!). My husband and I are planning to climb the bridge in Sydney, visit the Opera House and see a bit of the Great Barrier Reef (him from the water, me from the boat).

Tell us about your latest book…

My most recent release, Somebody to Love, is a riches-to-rags story. Parker Welles, a single mom and children’s book author, finds out life is about to change dramatically when her father announces he’s lost all her money in an insider trading scheme. The only thing she has left is a decrepit house on the coast of Maine, and the summer to fix it up. She’s definitely NOT happy when her father’s wingman shows up to lend a hand, but she can’t turn away his help, either.

James Cahill, or Thing One, as Parker calls him, has been watching Parker for years now. A crush on the boss’s daughter…not smart. He’s got his own problems to deal with, but first, he’ll help Parker flip her raggedy little house and maybe work off some of the guilt he’s carrying. Besides, the chance to be so close to the Princess is irresistible. He has six weeks to get her to see him as something other than a corporate drone.

Faithful readers will recognise a few characters from previous books (The Next Best Thing and Catch of the Day), and it was very fun to revisit some of them. This book has so many elements I love in a story: a ticking clock (Parker needs to sell the cottage before the end of the summer), enforced intimacy (James is right across the hall, which is EXTREMELY hard for Parker to ignore); a wonderful supporting cast; and a wicked cute dog. The reaction from readers and reviewers has been amazing, which is always such a relief. Sending a book out into the world is a bit like putting your kindergartner on the bus and saying a prayer that everyone likes him or her, so I’m really grateful that the book has been so well received. And if you haven’t read it yet, I hope you’ll love it!

What do you have coming up next?

My next book is called The Best Man, and it’s about Faith Holland, who returns to her hometown three years after being left at the altar to face the man she still loves and see if she can help the family-run vineyard. What she doesn’t plan on is such close proximity to Levi Cooper, the town’s chief of police, who just happens to have been not just the best man at her ill-fated wedding, but the man instrumental in calling it off.

The Best Man is the first in a series set around Blue Heron Vineyard and the tiny town of Manningsport, New York. My next two books will be set there as well, and really, it’s one of the most beautiful parts of the United States: deep, glacier lakes, vineyards and farms and lots of gorgeous forests and waterfalls. I think readers will love it. I certainly hope so!

If you haven’t tried one of Kristan’s books yet, what are you waiting for:

If you are an ARRA member or registered for ARRC2013, check out the member’s loop or ARRC Lounge loop for details of our Author Spotlight competition.

11 Comments
  1. 28 September 2012 9:48 am

    Loved The Next Best Thing and Catch of the Day. I can’t wait to read Parker’s story. Congrats on yet another success!

  2. 28 September 2012 10:26 am

    Lovely interview, I’ve been looking for an new author and Kristan’s books look to be ones I would enjoy. :-)

  3. 28 September 2012 11:33 am

    If you haven’t read Kristan, you are in for a treat. Contemporary romances are my favorite, and she is one of the masters.

  4. Sharlene Wegner permalink
    28 September 2012 12:25 pm

    Great interview! I own & have read all of Kristan’s books. And re-read some of them also! Love her style & can’t wait for the new series!

  5. Lorelei B. permalink
    28 September 2012 4:24 pm

    I’m so jealous! I have this amazing author in the USA and you ladies will get a chance to meet her in person, way down under?! Oh, jealous, indeed! I have read all her books, LOVE every single one of them! This woman’s got talent, I tell you! Just ask any of the other 7,445 + fans she has, and that’s only the ones on Facebook! What I love about Kristan Higgins is her voice, writing style, humour, tenderness and moments that make you cry. She’ll make your heart beat faster and get butterflies in you tummy with heroes so swoony and romantic… Her pets are stars as well, and let’s not forget great secondary characters than will entertain. Her Heroines are gals you can wished you had as friends. I’ve reread all her books, they are that good! The day I meet Kristan, will be one of the greatest days I’ll always remember!

  6. Barbara permalink
    28 September 2012 10:04 pm

    Hi Kristan

    Looking forward to meeting you at ARRC2013 …. have Somebody to Love on the ereader so had better get to and read it

    Barbara

  7. kristanhiggins permalink
    28 September 2012 11:28 pm

    Thanks, guys! I can’t wait for the conference, too!

  8. 29 September 2012 11:53 am

    We’ll have to put together some more restaurant recommendations in Brisbane for you. Really looking forward to meeting you in March. Thank you so much for commenting on my interview! It made my day.

  9. aimskye permalink
    2 October 2012 12:07 pm

    Great interview!! Will have to start reading before March!!

    Aimee

  10. 2 October 2012 7:21 pm

    Hi Kristan! I haven’t read any of your books yet – which one would you recommend? (the easiest? The most fun? The one closest to your heart?)

  11. 7 October 2012 9:18 pm

    Hi Kristen, I love your books and I especially loved Someone to Love. It was a great read. Can’t wait to meet you here in Oz.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers