Skip to content

Release day: The Silent Touch of Shadows

1 September 2012

Today is the official release of The Silent Touch of Shadows by Christina Courtenay (paperback, Choc Lit). Here’s the blurb:

What will it take to put the past to rest?

Professional genealogist Melissa Grantham receives an invitation to visit her family’s ancestral home, Ashleigh Manor. From the moment she arrives, life-like dreams and visions haunt her. The spiritual connection to a medieval young woman and her forbidden lover have her questioning her sanity, but Melissa is determined to solve the mystery.

Jake Precy, owner of a nearby cottage, has disturbing dreams too, but it’s not until he meets Melissa that they begin to make sense. He hires her to research his family’s history, unaware their lives are already entwined. Is the mutual attraction real or the result of ghostly interference?

A haunting love story set partly in the present and partly in fifteenth century Kent.

Christina dropped by today to tell us a bit about this book:

I first started writing this story many years ago, after I’d stayed at an old manor house, which was reputedly haunted. The owners told me they’d seen the ghost, a handsome man who looked as though he’d been there since the house was built some time during the late fifteenth century. This intrigued me and I started to wonder what would make someone’s soul hang around a place for that length of time–it had to be something fairly traumatic! I began to make up a story to account for this, and being a huge admirer of time slips, where the present and the past are interwoven, I decided that was what I wanted to write. I’m also a fan of genealogy and have been researching my own family tree for a long time, so I thought I would make my heroine a professional genealogist as this would put her in the best possible position to research the history of the ghost who is haunting her and the old manor house she’s living in. The Silent Touch of Shadows slowly evolved from there–I do hope readers will like it!

You can find out more about this book at Christina’s website or blog or buy it at here.

All ARRA members who leave a comment on this post will go in the draw to win a copy of the book. Giveaway closes on 22 September 2012. (the winner is Louisa)

21 Comments
  1. Natalie Moress permalink
    1 September 2012 1:15 pm

    Sounds intriguing. I love the heroine’s occupation. Time slips are fascinating, aren’t they?

  2. Barbara permalink
    1 September 2012 8:09 pm

    I don’t think I have read a time slip but this sounds interesting ….Congratulations

    Barbara

  3. 1 September 2012 8:35 pm

    Thank you, Natalie and Barbara! Yes, I love reading time slip novels myself so it was fun to write one too :)

  4. 1 September 2012 8:49 pm

    It’ll be great to see how Christina handles a time slip – I’ve read all her historicals and loved them. Especially her heroes …

  5. 1 September 2012 9:00 pm

    I love ghost stories, and this sounds fascinating. My CP writes time-slip stories and I love how the past & present interweave.
    All the best with the book!

  6. 1 September 2012 9:31 pm

    Sounds really good — I love my love stories with ghosts / time-slips / past & present interwoven. The cover looks great too… on second look, is there a big eye over on the left corner there? looks a bit freaky! Or maybed I need my eyes checked out!

  7. 1 September 2012 9:34 pm

    To my way of thinking time-slip novels must be a difficult genre to write. Sounds intriguing. Good luck with sales :-)

  8. 1 September 2012 9:36 pm

    Thanks, Sue, look forward to hearing what you think when you’ve read it!
    Juliet – thank you, yes ghosts are fascinating aren’t they – I’ve never actually seen one, but I do believe they exist!
    Tien – LOL, no don’t think there is an eye there, but then again maybe the ghost is playing tricks on us :)

  9. 1 September 2012 10:31 pm

    Was an enthralling read. And Christina’s heroes are edible.

  10. 1 September 2012 10:34 pm

    I loved this latest from Christina and was hooked as soon as I read the description of the manor house at the heart of the story.

  11. 1 September 2012 10:37 pm

    Oh I really like the sound of this book. I want to read it. All the best with it Christina!

  12. 1 September 2012 10:42 pm

    Thanks, Louise – it is a little bit more difficult in that the two stories have to be interwoven, but it’s also great fun to do!
    Liv and Chris – thank you, so glad you enjoyed it :)
    Louisa – thanks for your comment, do hope you enjoy it too if you do!

  13. 2 September 2012 5:17 am

    Christina’s historical novels read as though she really does have one foot in the past – she brings the periods to life so well. So I’ve no doubt this will be a great read.

  14. 2 September 2012 7:00 am

    Thank you, Linda, that’s very kind!

  15. lynette williams permalink
    2 September 2012 8:33 am

    the blurb suggest a mystry as well as romance looks like an interesting read

  16. 2 September 2012 9:36 am

    Blending mystery or intrigue with romance is a favourite combination of mine. Your story sounds fascinating. Thanks, Christina.

  17. 2 September 2012 11:47 am

    I have a soft spot for an epic love story which spans time. Best for your release :)

  18. 2 September 2012 8:03 pm

    Thank you Lynette, Beverley and Kaetrin!

  19. aimskye permalink
    3 September 2012 1:13 pm

    Congrats on your release day Christina!

    Aimee

  20. 7 September 2012 6:23 am

    Many thanks Aimee :)

  21. Na S. permalink
    14 September 2012 4:56 am

    I’m intrigued by the blurb :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,669 other followers