Skip to content

Guest blogger: Lois Greiman

19 August 2012

My first true love was named Strider. I met him when I had not yet reached my twelfth birthday. But I adored him immediately. For years I dreamed of his dark reticence, his tough sense of honor, his loyalty and bravery and wisdom. But things change, little girls grow up. I’m not a fickle person, but when I realised Strider, later called Aragorn, would forever belong to Arwen, I moved on. Eventually, I learned to love again. Ruark Beauchamp became the man of my dreams. I cherished him for decades. Then there was Devon Crandall, swashbuckling and beautiful. Stefan Barany was a tough, scarred man with gentle hands and a tender soul. The list goes on: Wulfgar, Darcy, Rhett, Wesley … Recently I’ve fallen hard for a man named Roarke. He’s a blue-eyed Irishman with tons of money and an intriguing past. It no longer bothers me that he’s involved with a woman who’s named after a city in the future. Such is enduring love perhaps.

Maybe you’ve fallen for some of the same men. Millions of women have. Perhaps that’s what made me begin writing fiction in the first place … the need to create that kind of character, to watch love bloom, to hear the witty repartee, to feel the thrust of the sword and the brush of longing fingertips. To hope for happily ever after. Who doesn’t want that?

Because of those desires, I saw my first novel published back in the 80s. Since then I’ve written about thirty others. And while I very much care for every heroine who’s ever crossed my fictional path, it’s the heroes who light up my world.

So it is that I was all atwitter when, a few years ago, a new man entered my life. He’s a police officer for the LAPD. Lieutenant Jack Rivera is dark, wounded, intense, and frequently irritating. I couldn’t possibly love him more. He’s shown up in every one of my Chrissy McMullen novels and alternates between creating trouble and saving lives. Their latest story, Uncorked, became available in December but it won’t be their last installment. Neither, however, will the dark lieutenant be the last in a long line of love affairs in which I am involved. Because even though I’ve started down a new path, a path called women’s fiction, those irritating, intriguing, beautiful men are still a huge part of my life.

Maybe that’s why I balked a few months ago when my agent first suggested I write a story about my FIRST love: horses. I’ve had horses all my life. I’ve trained, shown, rescued and ridden dozens of them. Nevertheless, it took me a while to agree that it made sense that I would also write about them. Still, regardless of my years with the equine species, it took me a while to get comfortable with the idea. Now, however, Finding Home is probably the most comfortable book I’ve ever written. It’s the story of a young woman who returns to her parents’ ranch in South Dakota (not far from my own roots). Determined to sever any remaining strings that tie her to her turbulent childhood, she finds instead that she is permanently connected to the land. I can relate to all of these elements, am intimately involved in many of the things Casie cares about. Nevertheless, it wasn’t until bareback rider, Colt Dickenson, entered the picture that I was completely captivated. Colt is a player, a wit, a free spirit, far different from any of the men I’ve loved in the past, but still lovable in his own right.

So hmmm, maybe I am fickle. But how about you? Are you a one hero kind of woman or have you adored hundreds of men? And who is your favorite?

Lois Greiman lives on a small horse farm in Minnesota with her family, some of whom are human. Her latest novel, Finding Home, will be released by Kensington Publishing in November 2012. You can find Lois at:

Facebook
Website
Amazon

4 Comments
  1. Carol L. permalink
    19 August 2012 11:20 am

    Lois, I adore Roarke. He’s my latest hero (well, since I first started reading the In Death series) lol Then there’s Jamie Fraser, my all time love. :) There are so many. And I will go on adding to my list. I enjoyed your post and look forward to your books.

    Carol L.
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  2. 20 August 2012 12:17 pm

    I love the Chrissy McMullen books, and Rivera is HOT! LOL I have all these books on my Touch On Fear Of Death shelf, and I’m so glad there will be more of Chrissy and Rivera!

  3. 20 August 2012 3:00 pm

    I’m definitely a hero tart! :D There are many on my list – Roarke is certainly one and I do have fond memories of Ruark Beauchamp too. Adam from Mercy Thompson, Curran from Kate Daniels, Luke from Mary Balogh’s Hearthless, Rothgar from Jo Beverley’s Malloren series – I could go on but I will spare you!

  4. aimskye permalink
    21 August 2012 1:12 pm

    Roarke is one of my favourites up there with Curran (Kate Daniels) , Acheron (Dark-Hunter) and Hawke & Lucas (Psy-Changeling).

    Thank you for posting!
    Aimee

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers