Skip to content

Release day: His Very Own Girl

14 August 2012

Today is the official release of His Very Own Girl by Carrie Lofty (ebook, Pocket).  Here’s the blurb:

After war took the lives of Lulu Davies’s parents and her fiancé, she promised herself she would guard her heart carefully and concentrate on her great love–flying the biggest and best airplanes as a British civilian pilot. She’s content to strive for greatness in the skies, and dance with a few GIs on the way.

Brawny, quiet American medic Joe Weber signed up with the paratroopers to escape his checkered past. The first test of his medical skill takes place when he rushes to the scene of a plane crash. He’s stunned to come face-to-face with a spirited, dark-haired beauty.

Their flirtation breaks all of Lulu’s rules, but dance by dance, week by week, walk by walk, she falls in love with this honest, vulnerable man on the run from his demons. The lovers only have one night together before Joe departs for the front lines. Only time and hope will tell if her love will return unharmed, and if they can overcome their pasts to forge a beautiful life together in peace-time.

Carrie dropped by today to tell us a little this book:

Oh, gracious, I adore this book. If ever I’ve written a ‘book of my heart’, this was it. His Very Own Girl is a genuine historical romance! It just happens to be set in World War II England. I learned so much in writing this book. I learned how medics were among the most selfless unsung heroes of all military branches, how civilian pilots, including dozens of women, helped save Britain, and how very few of their stories have ever been told, let alone in a romance. During my research, I even took a flight on a B-17 bomber–a ‘Flying Fortress’. That flight ranks as one of the highlights of my life, let alone my writing career. I hope you’ll journey with me into the 20th century for a story that lives up to every expectation of what a romance should include: a brave hero, a clever heroine, and a happy ending for the ages.

You can find out more about this book at Carrie’s website and buy it at Amazon.

All ARRA members who leave a comment on this post will go in the draw to win one of two copies of this book.  The giveaway closes on 4 September 2012. ( The winner was Kaetrin)

15 Comments
  1. 14 August 2012 9:48 am

    Awww, this sounds like a very sweet read. I love that the heroine is a pilot! There aren’t many even in these days.

  2. louiseforster permalink
    14 August 2012 10:15 am

    What a great idea to have the heroine a pilot. Sounds like a lovely read, even better that it’s a ‘genuine’ historical romance. This has a different slant on things and should prove very popular.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    14 August 2012 10:22 am

    Carrie, your book sounds fantastic. I love the era of second world war Britain, partly because that was my parents’ time, and partly because it was such an exciting, desperate period of world history.

  4. Glenda permalink
    14 August 2012 10:23 am

    Whoops, I forgot to fill in my details. I’m ‘Anonymous’.

    Glenda

  5. 14 August 2012 12:51 pm

    I love the idea of the WWII setting – there’s not enough romance set there I don’t think and it’s just ripe for all those lovely romance conflicts for readers who love the angst (like me). :)

  6. Malvina permalink
    14 August 2012 2:15 pm

    WWII England is such a rich place for stories – real and fictional. Your romance sounds so lovely, Carrie, it really pulls at me. Would love to read it.

  7. 14 August 2012 3:22 pm

    Oh I like the sound of this book. Will have to zip over to Amazon now and check it out. All the best, Carrie

  8. Brooke Moody permalink
    14 August 2012 5:22 pm

    I love Carrie’s books – very excited about this one. A definite for my TBR pile.

  9. Barbara permalink
    14 August 2012 9:47 pm

    I have loved Carries other books so will have to read this one

  10. 15 August 2012 3:14 am

    Thanks for all the kind, enthusiastic comments. Please do your utter best to spread the word about HIS VERY OWN GIRL. That way I can prove to my publisher there’s a market for bringing historical romance into the WWII era!!

    Unfortunately, Pocket push the release date back by two weeks. You can pre-order through Amazon, etc., but it won’t actually be available until 4 Sept. Sorry about the confusion/delay!

  11. 15 August 2012 3:52 am

    If you’re interested in learning more about my “living history” research for HIS VERY OWN GIRL, stop by and “like” my Facebook page. I have picture albums devoted Rockford WWII Days, (the largest WWII re-enactment event in the country), and my flight on a B-17. I also have raw footage of my flight, which was taken mostly for research rather than aesthetic purposes. That place was LOUD!

    I hope you’ll take a look!

  12. aimskye permalink
    15 August 2012 8:44 am

    Congrats on your relaease day Carrie!

    Aimee

  13. lynette williams permalink
    15 August 2012 1:32 pm

    it will be interesting to see if the 1940/s are depicted as they were

  14. Na S. permalink
    21 August 2012 3:57 pm

    I enjoy WWII stories and Lulu sounds so brave. Congrats on the release, Carrie.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,666 other followers