Skip to content

Release day: Burning Lies

2 July 2012

Today is the official release of Burning Lies by Helene Young (paperback, Penguin).  Here’s the blurb:

Lies, all lies. It didn’t matter how attractive he might be. She didn’t really know this man … He was living a lie and she didn’t know why.

Kaitlyn Scott is searching for the truth about her husband’s death, even if that means revisiting the most painful day of her life. But what she uncovers is a criminal willing to stop at nothing to keep his secret.

Ryan O’Donnell, an enigmatic undercover cop, is investigating arson attacks when he is drawn into Kaitlyn’s world. He tries to fight his attraction for her, hoping the case might put his own demons to rest, but it only threatens to push him over the edge.

With Kaitlyn and Ryan on a collision course, the arsonist seizes the chance to settle some old scores. As the Atherton Tableland burns, the three of them are caught in a fiery dance of danger and desire, and not everyone will come out alive.

Set in Australia’s tropical far north, this is an explosive story of peril and passion by the author voted by the Romance Writers of Australia as the most popular novelist of the year, and by the Australian Romance Readers Association as the most popular romantic suspense novelist two years running.

Helene dropped by today to tell us a little about this book:

Several years ago my husband and I were caught in a major bushfire south of Sydney. I’d never been so close to a wild fire before and it was terrifying. We felt powerless to help, with no resources, no local knowledge and no training for the situation. When the power went out and the community was cut off I could feel the anxiety in those around me. I could only imagine how the fire fighters felt trying to control it. An arsonist, who was later arrested, was also a volunteer fire fighter and that made me want to explore the psyche of someone who’s capable of doing such a brutal crime.

You can find out more about Burning Lies on Helene’s website and it is available for sale from Booktopia.

All ARRA members who comment on this article will go in the draw to win a copy of Burning Lies.  The giveaway closes on 23 July 2012. (The winner of the giveaway is Rachel)

18 Comments
  1. 2 July 2012 8:52 am

    Congratulations, Helene! It’s certainly a day to celebrate – for me, too, as my Regency Historical is also being released today. Obviously very different from yours but I love the sound of your exciting plots and I just adore a good dose of intrigue! I’m married to a pilot, so am a first-hand proponent of the mix of aviation and romance, although Burning Lies doesn’t seem to have an aviation theme. Anyway, I hope your book flies off the shelves!

  2. 2 July 2012 9:08 am

    Congratulations Helene, It’s a definite on my tbr list. Romantic Suspense is my fav genre. :)
    All the best,
    Suzanne :)

  3. 2 July 2012 9:11 am

    Huge congrats on your release Helene! Another book I’m chomping at the bit to get my hands on :)

  4. 2 July 2012 2:18 pm

    Thanks, Beverly, and congratulations on your release today!!

    Aviation does still play a part in Burning Lies as Kaitlyn is a mission commander in Border Watch and the Dash is used to track arsonists from the air! Next book takes a different direction :-)

  5. 2 July 2012 2:19 pm

    Suzanne, thank you! Hope you enjoy it!!

  6. 2 July 2012 2:20 pm

    Thanks, Rachael, hope you enjoy it!! Jilted is next in the TBR pile :-)

  7. lynette williams permalink
    2 July 2012 4:19 pm

    looks to tick all the boxes -mystry-romance

  8. 2 July 2012 4:52 pm

    Hi Helene,
    Sounds like a great read. In the Ash Wednesday fires in the 1980′s, my partner was missing for 10 hours. Luckily he made it out ok.. However, he reckons it was the scariest thing that he’s ever been involved in, and still talks about the noise of the fire and the total dis-orientation that it caused. He normally has a great sense of direction, but during the fire was totally lost as he couldn’t even see the side of the road through the smoke.
    Looking forward to reading your book
    Cheers
    Christine

  9. 2 July 2012 5:24 pm

    I hope it does, Lynette! Happy reading :-)

  10. 2 July 2012 5:26 pm

    Christine, that must have been terrifying. I couldn’t believe the noise up close. Being a pilot I thought I was immune to loud noises but it was beyond anything I expected. So glad that your partner made it out safe and unharmed.

  11. Barbara permalink
    2 July 2012 8:49 pm

    Congratulations Helene … I have read your other books and I am sure this will be as good so another on the list

  12. 2 July 2012 10:56 pm

    Sounds like a great book, Helene. Best wishes for mega sales.

  13. 3 July 2012 6:24 am

    Thanks, Barbara, I do hope you enjoy it as much as the other. Ryan is my favourite hero to date – he did his best to take on a larger role in Shattered Sky so it was really lovely to explore him more in Burning Lies.

  14. 3 July 2012 6:25 am

    Thanks, Sandy, mega sales and happy readers would be lovely!

  15. 3 July 2012 10:39 am

    Visited Atherton Tableland many, many years ago. Loved it and the setting as well as the story intrigues me. Sincere congratulations, Helene.

  16. 3 July 2012 1:07 pm

    Thanks, Mary, I hope you recognise parts of the Tablelands in the story! It’s a gorgeous part of the world and so different to the coastal areas.

  17. aimskye permalink
    3 July 2012 1:19 pm

    Congrats on your release day Helene!

    Aimee

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,669 other followers