Skip to content

Feature book: Celebrity in Death

21 March 2012

Celebrity in Death by JD Robb

Lieutenant Eve Dallas is back with another instalment; however, this time there is a twist. Eve and Roarke are attending a swanky dinner party with friends as well as people who are working on a new movie—The Icove Agenda. This new movie is based on one of Eve’s biggest cases. As a result when a murder occurs Eve finds herself investigating a homicide where the victim looks a lot like Peabody.

As Eve begins her investigation it soon becomes clear that it’s only a physical resemblance as everyone seems to have a motive for killing her. Robb balances the murder investigation with the character’s reactions to the current events and to the events of the last book, which impacted on them all to a degree.

After the first interviews are conducted at the scene there are more questions than answers. The next day Eve teases out each person’s secret and begins trying to establish motive and a suspect. The stakes are further increased with the murder of the PI who the victim had hired to help her find dirt on her cast mates. What did he know and where has a certain tape gone?

The media sense a major story and continue to hound Eve and her colleagues to find the murderer. Eve then discovers that the truth is actually more shocking then anyone had previously thought with the possibility that the two murders she is currently investigating are not the murderer’s first murders. Then the stakes are raised. This time when the murderer tries again he is thwarted, but can Eve find the evidence needed to convict him among so many secrets and with a very expensive movie trying to finish filming.

This book is an enjoyable read for fans of Eve and Roarke. This instalment cleverly shows how two previous books in this series have impacted on the ensemble characters and how they continue to grow and be shaped by their experiences. Of course, Eve and Roarke are the centre of the action but it’s still great to see how Robb keeps the others growing, changing and going after their goals too. This book is also a good introduction to the series if you have somehow managed to not read one of the previous books. Although the compulsion to read at least two of her previous books from the series will be very strong when you finish this tale. I’m looking forward to my next visit with Eve, Roarke and the gang.

reviewed by Tracey T

A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher. All ARRA members who leave a comment will go in the draw to win the book. This giveaway is now closed (4 Apr 2012).  The winner is Barbara.

12 Comments
  1. 21 March 2012 10:47 am

    I adore this series – can’t wait to read this one! :)

  2. Brooke Moody permalink
    21 March 2012 12:30 pm

    I haven’t read any in this series yet, but have heard so many wonderful things about it. Look forward to adding these to my TBR pile. Thanks for the review!

  3. Mary Preston permalink
    21 March 2012 2:54 pm

    I would love to read CELEBRITY IN DEATH thank you. I do enjoy reading work from J.D. Robb.

  4. Na S. permalink
    21 March 2012 6:01 pm

    I’m working my way through the In Death series and I am already a fan Eve and Roarke. It’s wonderful to hear they are still doing well together.

  5. 21 March 2012 10:35 pm

    I love Nora Roberts, but for some inexplicable reason I’ve only read one of her JD Robb series. I will definitely have to read some more! Lovely review Tracey.

  6. Laine permalink
    22 March 2012 1:24 am

    I love this series. I bought the audiobooks from Audible and my husband listens to them in the car. He loves them too. The narrator is excellent.

  7. 22 March 2012 8:33 pm

    Good review Tracey… I have never read any JD Robb books to many on the TBR pile already

  8. carol L permalink
    23 March 2012 9:07 pm

    I absolutely love the In Death series. I’d love to win. Anything Nora Roberts/JD Robb s always on the top pf my TRL. Thanks for this opportunity.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  9. Glenda Lock permalink
    24 March 2012 11:17 am

    I didn’t realise that Nora Roberts wrote under a different name. I love her books, and will definitely be reading her books in this series.

    Glenda

  10. 25 March 2012 3:53 pm

    i adore this series, it’s just i wish eve and roarke will have a baby soon :)

  11. aimskye permalink
    11 April 2012 10:26 am

    I actually haven’t read any of the “In Death” series but they are in my TBR pile. Will get there eventually! Thanks for the review Tracey!

    Aimee

  12. aimskye permalink
    3 May 2012 1:52 pm

    I have no excuse not to start In Death series, it is H.E.A.R.T’s next book!

    Aimee

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,702 other followers