Skip to content

Guest blogger: Lisa Heidke

3 April 2011

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to pop by ARRA’s blog spot.

Firstly, can I say what a fabulous time I had at the Australian Romance Readers Convention last weekend! Can’t wait for the next one.

Now, about Claudia and her friends!

My new novel, Claudia’s Big Break, is about three best friends, taking stock of their lives and heading off on the adventure of their lives, with a bit of drunken karaoke and romance thrown in.

Seeking time and space to think about new possibilities, Claudia Taylor jets off to glorious Santorini with her two best friends, Tara and Sophie. Sophie and Tara also hope a break from the daily grind will help them make some major life decisions.

All are at a crossroads, some surprisingly so. All the women have their own dreams, and through a series of adventures and unexpected events, find that a holiday can change their lives forever.

I loved writing Claudia’s Big Break, not only because it’s set in the beautiful Greek Isles, but because I was able to write about three strong female characters who are all seeking time and space to think about new possibilities in their lives. In addition to exploring Claudia, Sophie and Tara’s lifelong friendships, there’s plenty of romance and intrigue as well.

Claudia’s Big Break is similar to my other novels, Lucy Springer Gets Even and What Kate did Next in that my main characters are women facing a crisis or two. However, this time instead of being based in suburban Sydney where Lucy and Kate live, Claudia and her friends get to jet off to Europe.

I like to think that all three books are relevant and realistic but also entertaining and give readers a sense of ‘we’re all in this together’. All of us deal with varying levels of crisis on a daily basis and I have my share (I’m also an excellent eavesdropper) so I can relate to my characters and identify with them. I have hopefully presented their stories in a humorous way that readers will relate to.

Claudia Taylor’s life is a mess.

Her twenties and thirties seem to have disappeared in a haze of boring office jobs, unsuitable shags and superficial spending. Her latest disaster? An ill-advised fling.

In an attempt to get some perspective on her life, Claudia jets off to glorious Santorini with her two best friends, Tara and Sophie. But it’s not long before they’re shaking their heads at some of Claudia’s shenanigans.

Meanwhile, Sophie and Tara are wrestling with their own issues. Sophie, a former high-flying career woman, is struggling with being a her husband’s second wife…as well as being a stay-at-home mother. Tara, meanwhile, is sick of her dead-end job and trying to write a novel.

Lisa is giving away a copy of Claudia’s Big Break to one reader who leaves a comment.

The competition has now closed. The winner of the book giveaway was Bronwyn Jameson.

Follow Lisa on Twitter @lisaheidke and visit her website and blog at www.lisaheidke.com

7 Comments
  1. 3 April 2011 10:41 am

    Looks like a great book to escape into. Love the cover!

  2. 3 April 2011 2:30 pm

    I think I might have to jet off to an exotic location as ‘research’ so I can write a book that is set there! hmmm… Paris? Venice? ;)

  3. 3 April 2011 2:37 pm

    Looking forward to reading your book. My mother nabbed it first but she is enjoying it.
    Best
    Cathleen

  4. 3 April 2011 3:52 pm

    Loved Claudia’s story! And congratulations on being ‘shrink wrapped’ with Jodi Piccoult!
    It was lovely catching up at ARRC2011 :-)

  5. 3 April 2011 6:53 pm

    Oooh, Santorini! I love the cover, the blue and white are a perfect fit for the setting. Love the sound of the story, Lisa, it’s going on my wish list!

  6. Barbara permalink
    3 April 2011 9:23 pm

    HI Lisa

    It was great to meet you at ARRC…. I have read what Katy did next and really enjoyed it and have Claudia’s big break on my TBR pile.

    Barbara

  7. 7 April 2011 10:30 am

    Just looking at the cover makes me relax Lisa. And congrats on getting paired with Jodie x

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,706 other followers