Skip to content

ARRC2011: Silent Auction update

22 January 2011

On the day after the disastrous flood hit Brisbane, I was asked by the ARRC Organising Committee if I would coordinate a Silent Auction for the Convention. I said yes immediately. Once the email was written for authors, I began preparations for what I hoped would be a good response.

The email for authors went out on Saturday. On Sunday morning, I opened the email account wondering if there would be any responses, given the email had only been sent the day before. When the inbox opened I found ten emails from authors offering items. As I opened the first email and responded, I noticed there were more emails coming into the inbox. Over the next four hours, I wrote back to numerous authors, thanking them for their generosity in offering items for our auction. I saw the names of authors whose books I had read, authors who I really loved and some authors I think I would like to try. What I noticed the most was the overwhelming support and thoughts and prayers these authors were sending our way for the ‘shocking’ pictures they had seen of the floods and the damage caused.

As this goes to the blog we currently have about 80 items offered for the Silent Auction at the Convention, so delegates will have a wide choice of items all donated by authors and I’m sure anyone could find a favourite among them. There are debut authors as well as well-known authors, there are paranormal, historical, erotica and contemporary authors. Each morning when I open the email (and, I must admit, with much excitement) there is always another item on offer. The list of authors who are offering items include Anna Campbell, Anne Gracie, Stephanie Laurens, Helene Young, Barbara Hannay, Paula Roe, Denise Rossetti, Jess Dee and Sarah Mayberry from the Australian contingent.

The list of international authors is incredible too. Authors include Terry Spear, who was on our blog recently, Cynthia Eden, Kate Douglas, Lauren Dane, Charlaine Harris, Lynn Viehl, Eloisa James, Sherrilyn Kenyon and MaryJanice Davidson, who were special guests at our first convention, Kelley Armstrong, Lynsay Sands, Julia Quinn, Melissa Mayhue, Susan Grant and Deirdre Knight. I could keep listing the authors but you will be able to see more of the authors and items on the blog.

So what items might be on offer for the delegates? Signed books, ebooks, baskets of items, teddy bears, special prints, and for aspiring writers we also have some authors who have offered critiques. One generous group of authors are pooling their resources and sending a Kindle! The support has been overwhelming, as once again the romance community has shown how it can band together when needed. 

We have started listing items on the blog. You can view them here: http://australianromancereaders.wordpress.com/silent-auction/

All items up for auction will be set up in a special room at the convention where delegates can view and bid on them on Saturday 26 March from 8.30 am to 5.00 pm.

Thank you to all the generous authors who have made the Silent Auction possible.

Heather
Silent Auction Coordinator
arra.authors@gmail.com

3 Comments
  1. 22 January 2011 8:17 pm

    I’d like to donate two signed books best cathleen

    • arrawebmaster permalink*
      22 January 2011 8:21 pm

      Thanks Cathleen – we really appreciate it. Could you contact Heather at arra.authors@gmail.com and let her know the details?

  2. Aimee permalink
    22 January 2011 8:27 pm

    Great Work Heather. Going to need to bring more money!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,721 other followers